We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boath House Hotel to your Saves list
Boath House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“That Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've been visiting the Boathe House for quite a few years now and have, without fail, always had a terrific time. This year, however, was rather special. To celebrate my 65th birthday, my wife arranged a surprise, "Downton Abbey" style weekend party for me and took over the Boathe House, an inspired move that proved to be perfect in every respect. Of course the dining is the finest and the accommodations perfect, truly excellent, but the key for us is the staff. Owners, Don and Wendy Matheson, have surrounded themselves with people of the highest calibre and the team, led by Jonny, never fail to provide top class service.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a bath with a view, then room 3 is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    28
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Took my 6mth old baby son and his Godmother as a special birthday treat. We had a lovely afternoon tea, were well attended to and made to feel very welcome, especially baby! We enjoyed sandwiches, scones with cream + jam, gateaux and lots of tea! Beautiful surroundings and a cosy fire made for a special afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked months in advance [rooms 3 and 4] and looked forward to our 4-night visit -- we were not disappointed! In fact, we did not want to leave. The hotel, accommodations, staff, grounds, chef/menus/ingredients, and atmosphere could not have been more pleasing. The Boath house is among the world's fine places to stay and to eat, and it has qualities that some more conventional luxury hotels/resorts do not have -- uniqueness and authenticity. [And its relatively small size lends itself to personalized attention by the staff -- many thanks to Mr. Ross et al.!]

We need to return, perhaps during the winter season [although late October - early November this year was refreshing and lovely] -- our only concern is choosing which rooms to book next time!

S. Sawyer/B. Williams, Genoa Nevada USA

Room Tip: Just check the hotel's website -- rooms are all different, and each has special things to like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Initially slightly concerned as we were by ourselves but we had a wonderful dinner and felt we were extremely well looked after. The young lady who waited at our table was lovely. The food was excellent and totally worthy of its Michelin Star.
Our room was delightful. Only slight problem was noise from nearby main road but you cant do anything about that. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful porridge and fabulous bacon. Do try the unusual juice option served at breakfast. Lovely hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner booked us in here for my birthday last month and loved it.

The rooms are very elegant and possibly the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in!

Dinner was amazing, it was my first experience of a michelin starred restaurant and could not fault it at all. All of the 6 courses were stunning and varied.

Hopefully return again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Very luxurious and upmarket. They have a small number of rooms available which provides intimacy. Guests are treated like royalty. We stayed for 2 nights for my 40th birthday and on the first night we were the only guests staying so we had all the staff to ourselves. We felt like lord and lady of the manor with butler service and our very own michelin staf chef. What more can you ask for. Twin free-standing baths looking out over the gardens made it complete! The food is fine dining at its best. Someone who appreciates world class food with a very discerning palate need not look further. Organic, local and mostly freshly picked from the hotels own garden this hotel has it all. Not forgetting the intimate spa facilities which I spent hours is where you are attended to by local beauty therapists who are called in on request. Beautiful location, beautiful period building sympathetically restored with gorgeous furnishings and decor. Staff are friendly and very professional.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in was Room 3, which was previously the original Master Bedroom for the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is an outstanding small hotel which fully deserves its Michelin Star and the plaudits it gets. It's probably the most comfortable place I've ever stayed in terms of the beds, bath etc - and the food is out of this world. We stayed two nights, and enjoyed two of the best meals we have ever eaten. Each of them consisted of six (appropriately-sized!) courses, with any number of inventive ingredients and combinations. I've rarely encountered such culinary creativity in the UK. Sure, not every single element was completely perfect - but that's the consequence of pushing the boundaries. They get all of the basics right, and then add any number of surprising extras. I can't praise the food highly enough - and the staff have just the right amount of friendliness without being "in your face". It's not cheap - but in this instance, you very definitely do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#7 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boath House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.