We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boath House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boath House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Nairn
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Very luxurious and upmarket. They have a small number of rooms available which provides intimacy. Guests are treated like royalty. We stayed for 2 nights for my 40th birthday and on the first night we were the only guests staying so we had all the staff to ourselves. We felt like lord and lady of the manor with butler service and our very own michelin staf chef. What more can you ask for. Twin free-standing baths looking out over the gardens made it complete! The food is fine dining at its best. Someone who appreciates world class food with a very discerning palate need not look further. Organic, local and mostly freshly picked from the hotels own garden this hotel has it all. Not forgetting the intimate spa facilities which I spent hours is where you are attended to by local beauty therapists who are called in on request. Beautiful location, beautiful period building sympathetically restored with gorgeous furnishings and decor. Staff are friendly and very professional.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in was Room 3, which was previously the original Master Bedroom for the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    21
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
127
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is an outstanding small hotel which fully deserves its Michelin Star and the plaudits it gets. It's probably the most comfortable place I've ever stayed in terms of the beds, bath etc - and the food is out of this world. We stayed two nights, and enjoyed two of the best meals we have ever eaten. Each of them consisted of six (appropriately-sized!) courses, with any number of inventive ingredients and combinations. I've rarely encountered such culinary creativity in the UK. Sure, not every single element was completely perfect - but that's the consequence of pushing the boundaries. They get all of the basics right, and then add any number of surprising extras. I can't praise the food highly enough - and the staff have just the right amount of friendliness without being "in your face". It's not cheap - but in this instance, you very definitely do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked a night here as a treat and a treat it most definitely was. The beautiful house is exquisitely decorated with some wonderful artwork on show.
We stayed in Meickle Cottage which sits on its own just adjacent to the hotel. It's one of the rooms where you can take dogs but that doesn't mean it's substandard, quite the opposite. The room was beautifully prepared, with a table lamp on and the place was lovely and cosy. Again, it's a lovely place where every piece of furniture and fitting is just perfect. It also boasts a spacious bathroom and adjacent shower/wet room. It also has disabled access.
It has a nice, private seating area outside among the trees and also French doors at the rear of the property which were perfect for the dogs to nip out of.
But now to the most important thing which was the food....absolute perfection on a plate! All guests are seated around 7.30pm and there is one tasting menu on offer although the staff do consult with everyone to make sure it suits everyone. My highlight, I think, was the oyster with champagne granita but it was all delicious as was the breakfast the next day.
We will definitely be back,

Room Tip: We recommend Meickle cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

The cottage is popular amongst guests staying with pets and those who are staying for multiple nights, as it offers an added degree of privacy with parking directly outside its door. I remember that we were fully booked on the night of your stay and that you enjoyed your table in the private dining room. The champagne granita and cucumber pickle on the oyster is always well received by those who choose to eat it. As you have mentioned, Charlie is always happy to provide an alternative dish to the less adventurous. I forgot to mention at breakfast that Charlie told me he did use your cheese while it was in production. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in time.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying at Boath House on our way back to Aberdeen from Skye. From the second you drive in the grand entrance to this old mansion you are blown away. We drove straight to the door and were greeted by a member for the hotel staff who took our bags and took them straight our room whilst i parked the car. The room it's self was modern and well furnished. My only complaint was that the room could have been a bit bigger but apart from that it was beautiful. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast rate as we had heard nothing but rave reviews about the food. We were blown away by the quality of the food as it was absolutely world class. Our waiter for the evening helped us choose a nice bottle of white wine to complement our food and not only did it do just that but it was possibly one of the nicest bottles of wine we have ever tasted. Out only complaint about the dining area was that there was a loud German family in the next room with young children who were running around and shouting whilst we were having a romantic meal. The next morning we ordered breakfast to be sent to our and we had this in the conservatory which was part of our room and again the food was of a very high standard and was very nice. If you are looking for a secluded luxury hotel then this is the one for you. It's not cheap but you pay for what you get and the food was worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Boath House. High praise for ‘world class’ food and wine is always welcome. We were conscious of the noise the family made, which was our reason for sitting them in our private dining room. Unfortunately the only access to this room is via the main dining room. A firm word with the children did help the situation slightly. Parents who had no concern for their fellow diners did not. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to stay if you are in this area of Scotland, near Inverness. We stayed in Room 3, likely their best room, with a large bedroom and sitting area, a bathroom the size of most Studio apartments in Manhattan, with two, yes two, large bath tubs, side by Side, looking out onto the beautiful landscaped grounds. The bathroom amenities were Molten Brown, with many choices. The restaurant, a Michelin star gem, served meals that were great. Don't miss this place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. You may not be aware that the conference you attended here at Boath House was the first of its kind. We were delighted with the feedback we have received from the delegates following their departure. Thanks for the business and for the opportunity to show a group of international executives some real Scottish hospitality. I do recall that you had certain dietary restrictions and eat around a few ingredients. It is worth noting that our Chef can offer alternative dishes or at least take those restrictions into consideration if he is given prior notice.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Proprietors Wendy and Don and their son could charm the toughest skeptics. One of the warmest welcomes you can receive comes from this lovingly and charmingly maintained country manor with beautiful grounds. It is grand enough to be lovely and small enough that the owners can pay attention to every detail - Don makes the jams himself and both he and Wendy spent time joking with our kids (who loved this place). The rooms are very clean and neat and the plumbing has been modernized but all of the old charm and decorative touches of what one would want in an old Scottish Manor have been retained brilliantly so that the sense of place rings true. This sharply contrasts, for instance, Culloden House, which was dilapidated and lacked any sense of attention to detail in decor or comfort despite being pricier than Boath House.

I suppose you could stay at Boath house without eating breakfast but that would be insane. It is so gratifying when Michelin starred hotels perform but especially when they perform at both dinner and breakfast. Contrast Prestonfield in Edinburgh which did a fine job at dinner (though it isn't nearly as good as Boath house) but fell somewhat short at breakfast. We had two breakfasts for four in each of these starred establishments. Boath house had fresh squeezed juices, a smoothie with a special vanilla infused foam on top (but it really wasn't fussy) and a lovely veggie juice (I loved the beet and cucumber, for instance). Breads are made on premise each morning with special flours and served warm so that the butter melts on contact. And the jam, oh the jam! Duck egg was perfectly poached and accompanied by chanterelles one day and other wild mushrooms another. The best porridge ever and a bowl of fresh berries which were served with a garnish of fresh herbs and a hint of elderflower cordial (do I sound like dr niles crane describing this? You might too...that's how great this place was).
Special dietary restrictions, not a problem. Can't finish your meal? They tactfully notice and express concern. In my case, I couldn't finish because, while the portion sizes were spot on, I was worried that they'd just keep feeding me!
The lovely dog in residence, pip, was a hit with our kids and doesn't seem to bark. Ditto, on both counts for the swans in their pond.
One other sure sign of how happy and comfortable they made the guest...pretty much the whole dining room began chatting with one another at the end of the meal. As a result, my kids got to see a demo of the vintage classic car being driven by some delightful guests from Switzerland. Wendy and don and their very professional staff really had created so warm an atmosphere of contentment for their guests.
Can't wait to go back and surely our favorite of the 4 hotels we've hit in Scotland. Thank you so much Wendy and Don, we feel as though we made new friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had the good fortune to spend a night at Boath House with my other half. The hotel is set back from the main road, along a lovely long driveway which leads to the stunning house. Jonny and his team gave us a fantastic welcome, and offered to park the car for us which was a nice touch. Our room was huge, most of the furniture was antique and our four poster bed was amazingly comfortable and ornate. I particularly enjoyed the vast range of Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom!

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, which was without a doubt one of the best meals we have ever had. Breakfast was equally gratefully received.

The only regret that I had about our stay was that it was too short. I suppose that means we will need to book another stay soon!

Thank you Boath House for a wonderful trip, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and compliments. High praise indeed next to the other properties you have reviewed! You might be interested to know that our winter offers, which include two and three night breaks, are available from October 8th. See you soon...

Best,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boath House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boath House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.