We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Brae Hotel & Restaurant

Sunny Brae Hotel & Restaurant
Marine Road, Nairn, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Nairn
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A beautifully presented restaurant with helpful and informative service which was at the same time unobtrusive. The menu had locally sourced produce which was well cooked and very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my trip to nairn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Food was disappointing, very overpriced wine and the cheese and biscuits was a very small portion for a ridiculous price. Overall I would not visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Village
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We dined at the Sunnybrae restaurant on the last night of the holiday, on the recommendation of the owner of our cottage. The restaurant faces the sea and is nicely decorated. All of our courses were superb and the menu was complemented by an excellent selection of wines. The staff were also very pleasant, welcoming and informative.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fine dining experience carried out in the friendliest yet most professional manner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything about our experience tonight was immaculate. The food was excellent, surroundings spotless and beautifully put together and our hosts could not have been more professional or friendly.
I could not fault any part of the experience........ and I'm fussy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excelletn in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rarely does one find truly exemplary food, service and atmosphere that is also a terrific value...this is it! The menu features a two or three course selection option featuring fresh, local ingredients. Everything is prepared with finesse and presented skillfully. As with other reviews, you will find the service attentive and skilled. The venison is some of the best found anywhere and side ingredients are equally impressive (fresh, perfectly prepared and presented). Do try a terrine and the Banoff Tarte (banana) with toffee sauce! It also boasts a lengthy scotch tasting menu, a varied wine list and outstanding selection of dessert wines. The atmosphere is welcoming and unassuming with a lovely "lounge" to enjoy the ocean and park view (across the street) while perusing the menu. We came to Nairn for the golf and will return just to have dinner here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Brae Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Sunny Brae Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Brae Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.