We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cawdor Castle

Cawdor Castle
Cawdor, Nairn IV12 5RD, Scotland
44 (0)1667 404401
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 attractions in Nairn
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A romantic fairy-tale castle that has been the home of the Thanes of Cawdor since 1370, Cawdor has evolved into a charming family mansion and the most outstanding of stately homes. The dramatic medieval tower, dungeon, turrets, battlements and drawbridge, belie an enchanting interior of fine art, tapestries and furniture which create the warm and welcoming feel of a home rather than a museum. The castle, set in stunning grounds with three beautiful and varied gardens, is surrounded by the magnificent Cawdor Big Wood, one of the finest woodland areas in Europe, threaded with colour coded nature trails to explore.Visitors are invited to enjoy a delicious lunch or tea with home-baking from our mouth-watering menu in the courtyard café, then browse the exciting range of gifts and goodies in our three shops and, time permitting, have fun on the putting green and short 9-hole golf course which provides enjoyment for all standards.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Wickford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent castle. Lovely and homely can imagine how it could still be lived in. Unfortunately a heavy rain shower prevented us seeing all the gardens but what we did see was really lovely.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    85
    20
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Home, Not a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I visited today and were beyond impressed. The(very fortunate) lady of the castle actually lives here for 7 months out of the year. A very knowledgeable staff member told us she is due to return to take up residence in 2 weeks or so. During the time the Castle is open to the public, she lives in a cottage in a nearby town.
What impressed me most is that this castle does actually seem like a REAL home where someone lives and enjoys life - not just a cold pile of stones and old furniture. We enjoyed walking the gardens, visiting the gift shop, and talking with the staff. We took several photos of this impressive structure from the outside. Photography inside is strictly forbidden. After all, this IS a real home with family mementos in evidence.
Personally speaking, I enjoyed this castle tour much more than the one I took yesterday of Eilean Donan. That is also an occupied castle, but seems much more like a museum than a place where living, breathing people spend time . Eilean Donan may well be the most photographed and iconic castle in the world, but I much prefer the more homey feeling given off by the no less humble Cawdor Castle. In my opinion, Eilean Donan does not hold a candle to Cawdor Castle.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A very scenic castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Despite visiting on a very overcast day, the castle and the three gardens were stunning. The duchess still lives here and she was just arriving as we left. The each room is like a living history as they have different pieces of furniture, tapestries and artifacts throughout. There are explanatory notes in each room which give a valuable insight into the history of the castle and its occupants. The guides are also very pleased to share their very broad knowledge and can explain some of the more unusual features. The castle is definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm, Egypt
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle and Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very interesting, lived in castle. Very informative staff. Beautiful gardens. Looked an interesting small golf course which we would have tried if we had time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingfield, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle with unusual homey touches. Gorgeous gardens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Unusual in that it is inhabited & has modern homey touches throughout mixed in with the historical artifacts. Surprising humorous notes mixed in with the info display descriptions. Read them all - they are worth it. Beautifully restored rooms. Extensive grounds & gardens are exquisite! My favorite castle of the many we saw during our trip through Scotland & Ireland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawdor Castle also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cawdor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cawdor Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cawdor Castle to your Saves list