We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandstand Restaurant

Bandstand Restaurant
Crescent Road | Braeval Hotel, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
+44 1667 452341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Nairn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Bandstand Restaurant is a charming restaurant overlooking Nairn beach. The glass fronted restaurant has stunning sea views. Dishes are freshly prepared from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner are served daily. Sunday Carvery lunch and Friday Steak Night are very popular and booking is advised. The Bandstand's bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014 and has won this award five times in six years. The Bandstand is famed for its excellent range of real ales (9 hand pumps) and for its whisky list which includes over 100 single malt whiskies.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent beer and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here on a Friday evening which turned out to be steak night so I had a very good and well coooked sirloin washed down with two excellent pints of real ale. The chiicken balmoral was also given a rave review. Would definitely go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    97
    33
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for fresh local seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I highly recommend the fish dishes. The restaurant was recommended by my B & B hosts and deserved its commendation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in Nairn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Clean family orientated restaurant with a spectacular view over Nairn beach especially when the sun sets. Food is superb and reasonably priced, would recommend the steak done to perfection

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again. Steak lovers should note that we have a Steak Night every Friday with steak suppers at a great discount. Always a busy night - so best to book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ruby Wedding Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had our Ruby Wedding at the Braeval Hotel, Nairn, Scotland and it catered for 50 guests. I had the Roast Sirloin for main course and my wife had the Sea Bass Thai Style. To follow I had the profiteroles’ and my wife chose the peach and honey cheesecake. There was a host of other options and the organisation was excellent. Every one of our guests commented on the high standard of cuisine. There were several guests that had special requests and the vegetarian options were particularly well received.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this warm welcoming restaurant The Bandstand situated in the Braeval Hotel overlooking the Links and the Moray Firth. This restaurant lived up to all our expectations and more with a thank you to Morag and Gordon for all the attention to detail.
This was a truly memorable evening and a big thanks to all the staff that were so attentive making our event so special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It was a pleasure to host your special party. Thank you for such lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beware the cold ale!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Bandstand has been by far the best place in Nairn for a decent pint of real ale for some time, a real oasis. However, on a recent visit I commented that the cellars must have got pretty cold (due to a rather chilly pint of ale), only to be told that the real ale was now being pumped through a chiller. In my opinion this is a particularly bad idea, killing off the taste of what would have been a decent beer. Very disappointing; please reconsider!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am sorry that when you visited the ale was not at the correct temperature. When you visited we were in the process of upgrading our cellar by installing air conditioning to maintain the ales at the correct temperature winter and summer. I was on annual leave during the week that this was done and the new air conditioning was set at too low a temperature. This has now been rectified. The bar person who spoke to you obviously misunderstood and gave you the wrong information. We routinely maintain our ales at 10 - 12 degrees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandstand Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Bandstand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandstand Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.