We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most scenic line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh)

Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh)
Kyle Railway Station, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AQ , Scotland
01599 534824
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most scenic line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Must be one of the most scenic lines in the World. Breathless scenery and will never forget the experience

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went out to Kyle on the Monday 0900, and back on the Tues 1205. Mon. was a bit cloudy but very scenic, even saw a few stags and does on the way. We did seem to hit every request stop so we were a few minutes late into Kyle. We had seat reservations, but the cars were maybe 1/3 full. Tues was a sunny day and it couldn't have been more scenic, the views were fantastic, and we arrived on time. Again cars were maybe half full. However we did stop next to a train headed to Kyle, and it was packed, guessing a tour group or 2. Would strongly recommend reservations, we had stopped in at Inverness a few days earlier and I thought we might have to pay to reserve a seat, but we just showed our Britrail passes and received free reservations. While I was able to read we were in coach B, and our seat #'s it did take me awhile to realize the F meant front facing seats, versus an R for rear facing seat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nothing else to say really, just make sure you take a camera and eat fish and chips on the platform at Kyle, on a nippy autumn afternoon. Fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is a good oportunity to see the stunning views that you might miss when always driving. Its a couple of hours for the trip and you can get tea and coffee etc. Staff on train were great and helpfull. We had a few hours to see Inverness before getting train back to Kyle. Excellent day out and great value for money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Keep the Orient Express, give me the Kyle of Lochalsh line.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I travelled on this line a year ago, and regretfully I never broadcast the outstanding experience here - that sin is now removed.
From the moment the train rolls out of Inverness to the moment it stops at the Kyle of Lochalsh there is a new amazing view at every twist and turn of this spectacular journey; no two views are the same.
It has to rate as one of the most beautiful journeys by train anybody can take. The weather was very kind to us and the views were as far as the eye could see. We were spell-bound the whole journey.
We got off the train and went across to Skye for a few hours before we got back on the train.
On the return journey back to Inverness we sat on the other side of the carriage and digested the scenery from there too!
If you had to pay for what you saw we could not have afforded it. This was nature at its wonderful raw best. Get this journey done before your time runs out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh) also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyle Line (Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.