We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tandoori restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Tandoori - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice Tandoori
Station Road, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AE , Scotland
01599 530 303
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent tandoori restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times and have nearly always had the king prawn meata chilee. Sweet and spicy dish that is absolutely brilliant. Service is very good too and they very good at offering little wee free bees to go with your meal! The restaurant is Quite a surprise seen that Kyle is so far off the beaten path.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gairloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Curry in Kyle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well sited in the center of Kyle of Lochalsh where there is plenty of free-parking at the harbour car park nearby. The door is off the main street and the restaurant is upstairs. The decor is simple and clean. The service was charming, friendly and helpful on both of the occasions I have visited (information about the menu was openly offered). We arrived very early on Saturday evening about 5.30pm. The house red wine was fine and served at the right temperature, we also had Irn Bru and sparkling water. We requested tap water (piped water in the West-coast is soft and fine to drink) and it was served in individual glasses. The 3 of us ordered poppadom, served with mango chutney, chopped onion and yogurt raita, this was all fine.
Service was then slowed down by the arrival of a large but well mannered group of guys from the bar downstairs, but this was unexpectedly compensated by us receiving a plate of complementary tasty, freshly crisp pakora - very nice. We ordered 2 pilau rice (good), 1 side dish of okra which was tasty, a chicken Pallak which was lovely if not as spicy as expected. The chicken balti was good, and chicken tikka massala which was also accompanied with a complementary taste of a similar style dish that the waiter recommended - both were very nice. The best item for me was the peshwari nan which was excellent and fluffy with unusually pretty yellow colored stuffing of ground almonds and coconut - it was not too sweet - just right. After using hot wipes to clean up, we received a free scoop of strawberry ice cream each while waiting for our cup of fine percolated coffee and a pot of good tea. We had 3 chocolate foil covered mints with our bill which came to just over £50. We thought it excellent value and left a small tip. When I come again I would like a jug of water, a fresh flower on the table and an extra chilli in the curry thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worthy of a visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is not an Indian restaurant but a Bangladeshi one. The restaurant was not too busy. Just 2 groups including us (a group of 3). Orders were taken promptly and then everything went downhill. Spicy papadam served was soft and burnt. I had ordered a pint of diet coke, which was never served. For the mains we had ordered Tadka Dal (yellow lentils) as main and chicken tikka jeera. The dal was like thin and watery, with no salt and just a bit of thick gravy in the bottom, it seemed as if the cook took a small portion of dal , added water to it and served it after heating it. The chicken gravy was supposed to be hot but was extremely mild. We ordered salad and were told that they had run out of tomatoes and lemon due to "it being a busy day". Not a place i would visit next time. Much better to visit other indian restaurants nearby and give this a miss.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
1 review
“Superb Restaurant - Well Done Spice Tandoori”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

By far the best Indian meal I have had in a long time. Food was delicious and service was superb. Our party never felt rushed and the waiting staff were very considerate and made our party feel most welcome. Will definately consider the Spice Tandoori in Kyle for the venue for our next night out.

Top marks to the Spice Tandoori in Kyle Of Lochalsh!!! Well done guys!!! :o)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Impressive variety of menu options and really tasty cooking, Generous portions, friendly and attentive service. Most impressed and great value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Tandoori also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.