We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful iconic castle and a great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eilean Donan Castle

Eilean Donan Castle
Off A97, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8DX, Scotland
01599/555202
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$805*
and up
5-Day Iona, Mull and the Isle of Skye Small Group...
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque castle, built in 1220, holds the title of the most photographed castle in Scotland.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful iconic castle and a great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Eilean Donan Castle is a beautiful castle restored in 1926 and open every day for tours. The tour guide was excellent and informative; the displays within the castle are impressive and fascinating. Among the exhibits are a letter from Bonnie Prince Charlie, valuable silver and jewels, beautiful antiques and recreations of the kitchens busily preparing for a banquet.

The ladies in the gift shop are lovely and very helpful with advice etc. The setting of the castle is stunning, especially at sunset on a clear day.

One of the most beautiful castles in Scotland and definitely worth visiting on the way to the Isle of Skye.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    294
    73
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As the most photographed castle in Scotland we felt this was worth a visit - and it was! Happily followed the castle visit by morning tea in the visitor centre.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
181 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A highly recognized sight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This castle, although not really original, being rebuilt circa 1930 is one of the most photographed places in Scotland, often seen in advertising and also frequently used in films.
Different rooms represent different historical periods making it rather interesting. The kitchen is an education in itself. Although photography is not permitted within, there are some good interior photos on the internet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eilean Donan Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There is not enough words to describe this beauty. We were amazed by the cristal clear water, and the view around the castle. The wrong impression we got before we went into the castle, We thought it was rouined but inside it is set like an old time castle, so you go through the rooms and try to imagine how was it, to live there (I wish I could live there)....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The views made this trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The entrance was set up with a historical overview of the castle which helped to put events into context. This was useful as we found the rooms to be set up from a range of time periods.
There were staff members available to answer questions in some rooms and it was nice to see that they were dressed in outfits from the relevant era (though one was on her mobile phone which ruined it a little and made her seem unapproachable!). We found the kitchen to be the most interesting and coherent display. Overall though, we were most impressed with the view; it was stunning and definitely their selling point!
Pricewise, it was much as much with castles of a similar standing and the gift shop housed a range of merchandise from £2 to upwards of £100.
It's worth stopping off for an hour on the way to Skye (or elsewhere) but had it been our sole daytrip, I think we'd have been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eilean Donan Castle also viewed

 
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Eilean Donan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eilean Donan Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.