We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaprobe Atlantis

Seaprobe Atlantis
| Waterfront, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland
01471 822 716
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

went in the 1hr 15min trip at low tide to catch the ship wreck. The guide was great with an amazing amount of knowledge. The wildlife was not great although we did see a fair amount of seals. But this is the wildlife and it's just the luck of the draw. We did however learn some new and excitinf wildlife facts.
the trip around the kelp fields was amazing with lots of starfish, sea urchins, crabs and jellyfish.
Would recommend this trip to anyone. Great value for money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are all very glad that you enjoyed your trip, and would love the opportunity to welcome you back on board again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    14
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable and good value if your expectations are reasonable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Took my son on the 1/4 hour last trip of the day on 7 August. Thoroughly enjoyed it and for once had a holiday activity where we were not "fleeced". £25 for over an hour of interesting entertainment for two of us in this day and age seems reasonable to me. The publicity documentation perhaps slightly over-eggs what you are likely to see but hey folks use your brains - this isn't the Caribean or the Titanic! We did see loads of seals, a working salmon farm, a shipwreck, some starfish and some fascinating underwater fauna. The guide was great and I'd recommend this as a good way to spend some time. The caveats - see above re expectations and we went on a beautiful sunny evening on a half empty boat. Not so sure how I'd have enjoyed it on a wet day or with a full payload but I can only judge the experience we had and it was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review, and all your comments.

We are glad that you felt Seaprobe Atlantis represented good value for money, and really glad that you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great fun for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great sight seeing tour for all the family, we took the tour that included the WWII wreck and was well worth it. Commentary is fun and knowledgeable for both kids and parents alike.

Well worth it as each trip has something different to see dependent on the wildlife that is in the bay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for yor great review. We are all really glad that you enjoyed your trip and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back on board again at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
“A Fantastic Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lived on the island for years and only now can I say i've been on board Seaprobe Atlantis- and proudly too! The staff were so friendly and expressed such enthusiasm for the area's fantastic wildlife and scenery that it made for a perfect small outing.The guide was so factual and told me things about the island I never knew, that- with all the insightful commentary, spectacular sightings and the unique opportunity to see underwater too- I found myself wishing i'd chosen the longer trip!!

The biggest surprise was how close we got to the Seals on seal island, not only did this showcase how skilled the guide was in manoeuvring the boat carefully and smoothly around- but it also showed how devoted the team were in getting us to see the best wildlife that Skye has to offer.

An overall terrific experience!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are all delighted that you came on board and enjoyed your trip, and hope that you will come back again for the longer trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lovely calm day to go out on the boat, the crew are so knowledgeable and open to questions it makes the trip all the better, their passion for the area and the wildlife they take you to see shows through in the way that if it looked like the seals are getting upset the skipper backed the boat off immediately. The wildlife you do see is amazing and we got some pretty good shots of the seals, but there are binoculars on the boat available for your use. We only did the one hour trip as one of us gets a little seasick but we were both absolutely fine and are now planning to go back and do the two hour trip, excellent value for money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip, and could appreciate the care that is taken not to disturb the wildlife. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on board again for the 2 hour trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaprobe Atlantis also viewed

 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Seaprobe Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaprobe Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.