We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waverley Restaurant

The Waverley Restaurant
Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AB, Scotland
44 (1599) 534337
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice, comfortable, food cooked nicely and very tasty.

The service was spot on and was made to feel very welcome.

Highly reommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    160
    40
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was recommended to us and we had a very enjoyable "specials". Service and surroundings were great. We will eat there again one day!



Julie & Colin Ellender Lynsted Kent

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed Unfortunately”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having read the numerous positive reviews, I must admit I was quite disappointed with our meal at The Waverley. I ordered a sirloin steak and it had gristle all the way through making a good portion of it inedible. Then for dessert I ordered a creme brulee - it was burnt on top and in an effort to 'hide' the fact, it was simply covered in icing sugar. I could still taste the burnt flavour and was not impressed. Having said these negative comments, I think I may have been unlucky in my choices as my husband's main & dessert were both lovely. The service was also good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seek out this cosy hidden Highland gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I happened upon the Waverley by chance and managed to secure an early evening table. We were treated to an excellent Highland welcome and superb service in the small upstairs restaurant with it's unusual but pleasing decor.

Menu choice was very varied and the Seafood Platter at £16.95 was amazing value. All of our dishes were excellent and we could find nothing to fault the place. The fact that many diners were turned away due to a full restaurant speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Setting and decoration adds to the general atmos...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

You would probably not find this if you were wandering around because it is upstairs off a side street (or maybe that is the main street?) in Kyle.

The Waverley was recommended by our hotel who said it was the best place in town. They were right.

The setting and decoration is unusual but that only adds to the general atmos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waverley Restaurant also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to The Waverley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waverley Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.