We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardlinnhe Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardlinnhe Guest House to your Saves list
Ardlinnhe Guest House
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

B & B was excellent, spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was good, all freshly cooked. Pam, Ray and daughter all very welcoming and helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend or return. Thanks for a lovely stay, shame the weather wasn't as welcoming!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very unfriendly, they want your money but not you. Orange juice served at breakfast was bad. Requesting breakfast early (8am) on Sunday so we could leave early was replied to with hostility, owners do not like getting up to early! Would not go back if you paid me.

Room Tip: Do not use
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91Raymond, Owner at Ardlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Shocked to read this review, as we have no knowledge off any of our guests requesting early breakfast.
We serve breakfast 7 days a week from 7.30am onwards, as stated on our breakfast menus...
We strive to meet all of our guests requirements at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had intended to write this review anyway but felt constrained to do so after reading the review of Mark G.Whilst I realise that each review is subjective , that one described something that was so far removed from my own experience - and that of other reviewers and guests{if the visitors' book is an accurate reflection}
We travelled by public transport and had stated in our e-mail that we would ring with our e.t.a.I forgot to do so until we arrived in Fort William.There was no suggestion that my oversight had caused a problem and on arrival we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. As several have mentioned the house has a stunning view from the front over Loch Linnhe .We were therefore slightly disappointed to be shown to a room at the rear of the house, The house only has 3 rooms for guests and we recognised that if a front facing room was not available then there was nothing that anyone could do.
The room we were given was fantastic- it is enormous- definitely the biggest we have ever seen in a bed and breakfast.The furniture was of good quality -and all co-ordinated=with an incredible number of drawers {15!!!!] not to mention shelves and wardrobe space.The en-suite was also spacious with ample shelving for storage.
The well-stocked refreshment tray was replenished on a regular basis - something which does not always seem to happen and towels were changed daily if required.
Breakfasts are served at set times to suit your requirements and it is necessary to choose your menu the night before together with your reqiured time.I know some may not like this approach but it does ensure that breakfast is freshly cooked .As a testament to the comfort of the beds we almost missed breakfast but we could not detect even the merest hint of rebuke-rather a sense of satisfaction that we had found the beds and our room to be so comfortable.In fact from that point on we found a growing rapport with Pam which flourished throughout our stay and developed to encompass Ray when he was our waiter at the week-end.I also noticed that the buffet section of the breakfast {normally cereals ,yoghurts[in a bowl of ice -nice touch]croissants etc }had expanded to include cold meats and cheeses on the morning that 2 German {?}ladies were at breakfast. All that and a superb view to the loch from the dining-area.
The only downside to our 4 nights in Fort William was that the weather was unfortunately typically that of the Highlands -overcast and wet.Far from being irritated or uninterested in what we could do we found Pam and Ray were more than happy to provide information and leaflets about various local attractions.
All in all this was a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a spotlessly clean home at a very reasonable price. We cannot recommend Ardlinnhe too highly.

Room Tip: Dont be disappointed if you are given the room at the back- the standard more than makes upfor lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent a night at this B&B which was far from pleasant. Prior to our departure we read positive reviews about Ardlinnhe B&B which led us to believe that it will be a nice experience.

As all the reviews state the B&B has a great location in front of the Loch, is clean and the breakfast was OK. We were looking for a pleasant night similar to our previous night at inverness.

What disappointed us was the cold welcoming of the owner Pam. Only having been there for 5 minutes, she was clearly irritated by us asking for simple advice. She was hence unapproachable.

In the morning, she was not there to greet us and scolded us for being 5 minutes late for breakfast. Strangely enough she seemed to be eager on us leaving.

Whilst we were still at the breakfast table, we were surprised that the host started clearing the food before we were even ready.

After breakfast she rushed to our room to first and foremost collect the money due after which she told us to wait whilst she checked that our room was in good order.

On leaving we bid her farewell by wishing her a 'good day' and the tone of Pam's reply 'I will' suggested that she will be having a good day once we have departed.

We honestly felt that we were highly unwelcome and were being thrown out which led us to be extremely eager to leave as soon as possible. We could not wait any longer!!

After the way we were treated we therefore strongly do not recommend to anyone to stay at this guest house.

Mark, 35, IT Consultant
Anne, 26, Medical Doctor

Room Tip: There are several guest houses in the same area providing a better service. Rooms could be better fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here one night in Aug 2011. Proprietor, Pam, is highly organised and professional. On arrival the whole house was spotless and ready. Rooms, bedding, ensuites were immaculate. Breakfast was very good; again served with professional, no fuss.
Views from the breakfast room excellent.
We spent 5 weeks travelling around the UK and this was one of the best B&Bs we stayed in.
There is a pub up the road serving excellent dinners.

Room Tip: Book early. This place is very popular. Ask for a room overlooking the lake. Unfortunately, these ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

An excellent location close to the amenities of Fort William; panoramic views across Loch Linnhe in some bedrooms, surprisingly quiet nights in exceptionally clean and comfortable bedrooms; a warm welcome and hearty breakfast awaits anyone lucky enough to enjoy accomodation at Ardlinnhe B&B. We would highly recommend it and make frequent visits were it not 550 mles away from our home!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We only spent one night at the Ardlinnhe but we experienced a large immaculate ensuite room. Breakfast was very good and Pam was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlinnhe Guest House

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardlinnhe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardlinnhe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.