We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Annex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse to your Saves list
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Annex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in the annex. Very modern, clean, luxurious bathroom with bath tub. A perfect stay with view over the loch. Approximately 5 minutes walk to city centre. A beautiful beach walk passing the house.

Room Tip: we lived in a room in the newly built Annex which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    35
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
85
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My mother, wife and I had a very nice room for two nights. The owners were great to talk with about history of the B&B and the daughter was also helpful with some bus info in town better than the tourist information in the city center. Nice short walk to town with a lot of great pubs to eat in. The breakfast we had each morn was top notch. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently.
Room lovely, good bathroom. very quiet.
The overall service from the owners was great and they were very friendly.
On the negative side one of the nice things about staying away from home is that someone else does all the food side of things.
And on this side the standard of the cooked full breakfast was very average, almost poor.
My wife stayed at a place in Bournemouth last weekend which was cheaper and the breakfast was way better than what we had here.
Which is a shame as everything else was tip top.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, lovely room well appointed, great breakfast and friendly owner and staff, situated close to town centre. Views from front of building are fabulous.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here Wed 23rd to Sun 27th Oct. Although there were only two of us we were given the Linnhe Suite - Room 2, a large family room (double bed, two singles) on the ground floor with a lovely bay window overlooking the loch with large ensuite bathroom. A table and two arm chairs were placed in the bay window and binoculars were thoughtfully provided so one could view the wild life on the loch. Excellent breakfast every morning. The B&B is a 5 min walk from the town and there are excellent restaurants close by. The Lime Tree two mins walk up the street on the corner (expensive and a bit nouveau cuisine) The Crannog Sea food restaurant on the pier - superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our tour of the Highlands, and were very happy with the accommodations. Our host was most welcoming, the room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully appointed. It was an easy walk into town for dinner, and our breakfast the next morning was delicious. The Guest House is in a beautiful location, right along the water. We would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a 2 night break on 8th Oct with my boyfriend. Sadly he didn't ask for a loch view room, but none the less the allocated room was quiet, well equipped and relaxing, despite looking over rear garden and properties beyond. Bed was so comfortable and we slept like a log. I recently lost my mum and this was a much needed rest. Hosts were attentive but not intrusive and the tasty breakfast was served quickly, I would have eaten a lot more but tried to be ladylike haha.
Hope to be back soon as my boyfriend a Munro bagger, tho on this occasion we went on more gentle walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.