We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenshian Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenshian Guesthouse to your Saves list
Glenshian Guesthouse
Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH337 LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
Vernon, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spacious B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While the bedroom was on the smaller side, the large living and sun rooms were available to guests and provided ample room to read, watch TV and relax. A lovely, well cared for garden with a path leading to an interesting walkway alongside the canal. An excellent breakfast with plenty of choice was provided by our hosts, Ian and Glynnis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is much appreciated. Pleased you enjoyed our home. Good that you could play bridge at the table in the conservatory. Little things like that makes us feel you are enjoying yourselves. Regards to you all. Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
80
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just what other reviewers have said. A perfect B&B in a perfect location. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Fort William. We were starting a cycle tour and it proved to be a great place for arriving with bikes by train (Banavie) and then setting off with a hearty breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thank you for writing your review. Pleased our home and hospitality gave you a good start to you cycle trip. See you again sometime with your bikes to explore more of the local area. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Test Valley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here a few times and will recommend to everyone. clean, comfy cozy and very,very good value. helpful owners who have good knowledge of area and where to go, what to see. beautiful location, fantastic scenery .
wonderful breakfast, plenty of choice and beautifully presented, quickly and nice and hot.
tea and biscuits on arrival is very welcome after a long drive. lovely toiletries in the bathroom that are locally produced.
you will stay once and keep going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for writing your review. We know you have stayed with us many times and we thoroughly enjoy your company. Have recently made some more Rhubarb and Ginger Jam as supplies were a little low after you left. See you in December. Regards Glenys, Iain and Beja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 19th Sept 2013. The guest house is spotless and the owners Ian and Glynnis are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. Beds very comfy. The view from the back garden in the conservatory is stunning. The canal, boats and ducks add to the beauty. I highly recommend this guest house. The breakfast was lovely and filling.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you all. Thanks for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Hope your canoe trip went well. The weather was quite kind to you. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here at the start of our walk along the Great Glen Way, fantastic location on the route with views of Ben Nevis. Very clean and modern, the owners were very friendly. Had an excellent sleep due to the comfortable bed and quiet location. Guests have the use of a very nice lounge and conservatory. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day's walk. The owners advised us where we could get an evening meal, I would definitely recommend this guest house, one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thank you for writing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the start of walking the Great Glen Way. We are ideally situated for this, especially when you can have an evening meal close-by, which you found out. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have now stayed at Glenshian with Glenys and Iain 3 times and it just gets better and better. Not only do you get a warm welcome on arrival with a nice pot of tea and biscuits, you get it ever day when you get back from the day's trip. All the accommodation is to the highest standards. There are a number of excellent places close by to eat, for some of which you are given a 10% off voucher. The breakfasts are particularly good with lots of choice, much home made and all freshly cooked. Breakfast is taken in the conservatory with a superb view across the Caledonian Canal to Ben Nevis, Carn Mor Dearg, and Aonach Mor, as a hill walker views don't get better than that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thanks for putting 'pen to paper' it is much appreciated and gives future guests a feel for the place which can be difficult when there is so much choice. Especially liked the photo from the conservatory on the last morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon. As you know there is plenty to do in the area. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Glenshian in late August. We were greeted warmly by Glenys and Ian and immediately asked if we wanted tea, which we declined because we needed supper. They suggested The Moorings Hotel just a short and interesting walk along the locks behind the b&b. The Moorings menu and food was good. I connected to wifi there.
The menu at the Glenshian had many good items to choose from. We enjoyed the fish cakes and eggs. The rooms were a nice size and clean. A really nice attraction here is the beautiful sunroom to eat breakfast and the sitting room available to guests. Ian and Glenys had the sitting room warmed up for us when we returned from a rainy day at Skye. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you all. Thank you for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the warmth of the multi-fuel stove. It is very welcoming on a damp and dreary day. A bit like today!!. The colours of the hills are starting to change so things look even more beautiful. Thanks again. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Address: Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH337 LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenshian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenshian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.