We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfy and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenshian Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenshian Guesthouse
Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH337 LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 115 Fort William B&B and Inns
Test Valley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“clean, comfy and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here a few times and will recommend to everyone. clean, comfy cozy and very,very good value. helpful owners who have good knowledge of area and where to go, what to see. beautiful location, fantastic scenery .
wonderful breakfast, plenty of choice and beautifully presented, quickly and nice and hot.
tea and biscuits on arrival is very welcome after a long drive. lovely toiletries in the bathroom that are locally produced.
you will stay once and keep going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for writing your review. We know you have stayed with us many times and we thoroughly enjoy your company. Have recently made some more Rhubarb and Ginger Jam as supplies were a little low after you left. See you in December. Regards Glenys, Iain and Beja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 19th Sept 2013. The guest house is spotless and the owners Ian and Glynnis are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. Beds very comfy. The view from the back garden in the conservatory is stunning. The canal, boats and ducks add to the beauty. I highly recommend this guest house. The breakfast was lovely and filling.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you all. Thanks for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Hope your canoe trip went well. The weather was quite kind to you. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here at the start of our walk along the Great Glen Way, fantastic location on the route with views of Ben Nevis. Very clean and modern, the owners were very friendly. Had an excellent sleep due to the comfortable bed and quiet location. Guests have the use of a very nice lounge and conservatory. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day's walk. The owners advised us where we could get an evening meal, I would definitely recommend this guest house, one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thank you for writing your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the start of walking the Great Glen Way. We are ideally situated for this, especially when you can have an evening meal close-by, which you found out. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have now stayed at Glenshian with Glenys and Iain 3 times and it just gets better and better. Not only do you get a warm welcome on arrival with a nice pot of tea and biscuits, you get it ever day when you get back from the day's trip. All the accommodation is to the highest standards. There are a number of excellent places close by to eat, for some of which you are given a 10% off voucher. The breakfasts are particularly good with lots of choice, much home made and all freshly cooked. Breakfast is taken in the conservatory with a superb view across the Caledonian Canal to Ben Nevis, Carn Mor Dearg, and Aonach Mor, as a hill walker views don't get better than that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thanks for putting 'pen to paper' it is much appreciated and gives future guests a feel for the place which can be difficult when there is so much choice. Especially liked the photo from the conservatory on the last morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon. As you know there is plenty to do in the area. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Glenshian in late August. We were greeted warmly by Glenys and Ian and immediately asked if we wanted tea, which we declined because we needed supper. They suggested The Moorings Hotel just a short and interesting walk along the locks behind the b&b. The Moorings menu and food was good. I connected to wifi there.
The menu at the Glenshian had many good items to choose from. We enjoyed the fish cakes and eggs. The rooms were a nice size and clean. A really nice attraction here is the beautiful sunroom to eat breakfast and the sitting room available to guests. Ian and Glenys had the sitting room warmed up for us when we returned from a rainy day at Skye. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you all. Thank you for writing your review. It is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the warmth of the multi-fuel stove. It is very welcoming on a damp and dreary day. A bit like today!!. The colours of the hills are starting to change so things look even more beautiful. Thanks again. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Ian and Glenys welcome you with genuine warmth and a cup of tea.
Nothing is too much trouble they freely offer advice of places to visit, restaurants to go to etc. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and have just been refurbished to a very high standard. The breakfast is held in the conservatory which overlooks the Caledonian Canal and a wonderful view of Ben Nevis. The breakfast menu is extensive made all the more special by tasting Glenys's outstanding home made preserves and muesli. We are now confirmed season ticket holders and will be returning at regular intervals.

Room Tip: The Fern room looks out onto the Ben and is very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenshian, Owner at Glenshian Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi to you both, Thanks for writing the review. Sorry it has taken a little while to respond. Have been very busy. It is a little quieter now so can catch up. Haven't forgotten about the recipe. Your comments about the house and hospitality are so kind. You are welcome back anytime you can get away. Perhaps we will see you later in the year. Regards Glenys and Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed one night in this Guesthouse together with my sister and we enjoyed our stay. The property is very nice and just near the canal. It is relatively small but it has everything one needs. Everything is clean, of quality and kept to a high standard. The view is nice and it is easy to go for a lovely stroll. This property deserves its certificate of excellence. A minor point is that we would have liked a bit more of a personal touch in the rooms or on the breakfast table. I fully recommend this Guesthouse for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenshian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshian Guesthouse

Address: Glenshian | Banavie, Fort William PH337 LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our peaceful country home, set on the banks of the Caledonian Canal and only three miles from Fort William where you can come and unwind in the Highlands of Scotland, breathe the fresh mountain air and relax in this family run 4* bed and breakfast. Guests can enjoy the Highlands at any time of the year as each season has something to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenshian Guesthouse Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenshian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glenshian Guesthouse to your Saves list