We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingtower Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Huntingtower Lodge to your Saves list
Huntingtower Lodge
Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer and save 5%
Ranked #3 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at Huntingtower Lodge twice in the last two years. We found this place on trip advisor, and had high expectations due to the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. This B&B has the best breakfast I have ever had in the UK.
The first time, we went, we stayed in the waterfall suite. After an overnight train trip, the linens were soft and clean, and the beds were like clouds. The suite was nicely appointed with a bedroom, sitting room (with a fantastic view of the loch), an en suite bathroom, and a bonus space that I wasn't expecting. Instead of a closet, the waterfall suite has a lovely dressing room with windows that crank open to let the cool Scottish air in, a large dresser, and tea service with home made sugar cookies. Delicious with afternoon tea or after a dinner at the Ben Nevis Inn.
The second time we stayed, we took e studio. There was ample space for two adults and all of the baggage of international travel. This suite includes the same wonderful bedding and my fav cookies! One of my favorite things about the bathroom is the soaps and shampoos. Jackie keeps them stocked with Highland Soap products, and I always smelled of heather and rosemary. The towel Warner's and bidet were nice touches as well.
Now for the most important part..... The grub. Chris welcomes you to your table (set the night before) and lets you wake up,with French pressed coffee or a stout tea. My suggestion is to order a potato pancake with a fried egg and Scottish salmon on top. It's "gorgeous"! Don't forget to try the fresh granola with currants and pumpkin seeds with creamy milk. So good!
One important point to make is that Chris and Jackie are very responsible concerning the environment. Many of the herbs and veggies come from their garden, and they buy in bulk to conserve on the trash production. You won't see trash cans full of bags and little cereal boxes in this place. It is very clean and efficient. Make sure you take a moment to sit quietly with some binoculars (provided on your windowsill) and observe the wildlife. Critters and birds love Huntingtower Lodge, as the are plenty of feeders to keep them coming.
To truly enjoy this place, one needs two or three nights. To soak it all up. Chris and Jackie are full of suggestions of places to eat, hear music, and things to do. DOnt miss the steam train to Malaig. It's a full day, but well worth your time. We loved it. Do not waste time or money on coach. It's worth every penny to go,first class.
We will return to Huntingtower lodge as soon as we can, as Fort William is an excellent base for your highland adventure. When you are there, take a look around at Jackie's glass collection. You'll see a blue abstract that I made......magnify of appreciation for two fabulous trips.

Room Tip: Any room would be great, but make sure to allow enough time to sit quietly and enjoy the peaceful at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much Amelia C for your very positive review. It was great to see you both again and we are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us. As you said we like to encourage wildlife around the house and this summer we have been busy working on a wildlife pond up in the woods, we are keeping our fingers crossed for some tadpoles next spring.

Thank you very much for the lovely gift that you made for us, when you return you will find it hanging in the hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
234
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while exploring the area and walking up Ben Nevis for charity at the start of August. Having read the excellent reviews we had high expectations and were not disappointed! Greeted after a long journey with tea and home made cake in the lounge then shown to our room. Our room was modern, clean, spacious, well equipped and with a very comfortable bed but by far the best feature is the views, even better for the binoculars supplied in the room (the whole place is full of these great little extra touches). Plenty of quality tea, coffee, hot chocolate and some amazing shortbread restocked every day. Large bathroom with complimentary local toiletries again another nice touch.

Breakfast is brilliant, huge choice and again brilliant views. Clearly only high quality food is used and being cooked to order it is fresh and perfectly cooked - the best fuel for taking on Ben Nevis!

Chris and Jackie are extremely welcoming, great to chat to and are full of suggestions on how to enjoy the area. If you're reading this wondering whether to book just go for it - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much tan11989 for your very kind review. I'm glad that we were able to fuel you up for your conquest of Ben Nevis. Well done to you both and congratulations on raising so much money for a very good cause. It would be lovely to see you both again, perhaps for a more relaxing stay next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Huntingtower Lodge for three nights in July 2013. We had the waterfall suite and our friends stayed in a couple of other rooms. This worked really well because we had the living room of the suite as our own space to relax with our friends - although the communal lounge was just as good! The B&B is very well presented - modern, fresh decor and very clean. Nice touches with the locally sourced toiletries and chocolates! Chris and Jackie were very welcoming and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious! Plenty of choice and cooked to order. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you monkeebrainz for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all and we are delighted that you were comfortable in the Waterfall Suite. Having travelled so far it was good that you managed to do some cycling.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the chocolates from Big Ridge Chocolates and toiletries from The Highland Soap Co. We are very lucky to have talented artisan producers in the area and it is a pleasure to promote such excellent quality produce. I love the toiletries and we have to 'quality control' the chocolates on a very regular basis!! I hope all goes well with your move to the new house and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The b&b, location, hospitality and food are fantastic. Chris ensured we had a fantastic few days for a birthday trip in December 2011 (the Tripadvisor dates don't go back that far!). He made us feel very at home and gave us plenty of local information, which was particularly helpful in a dark mid-December. More than happy to recommend it - and to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are delighted Operabea that you have such happy memories of your birthday trip to Fort William. It can be very beautiful up here in the Winter and if the weather is n't kind we have a selection of books, games etc to help pass the time. We would love to see you again and if you fancy another winter break you might like to take advantage of our 3 for 2 Winter Break offer from Jan 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We unfortunately only had the opportunity to stay here for one night on our tour around Scotland – wish we could have stayed longer! We were on our way to Isle of Skye and stopped in Fort William on the way from Glasgow. Huntingtower Lodge was the best B&B we stayed at on our week in Scotland. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in all our travels and the rooms were comfortable, large and spotlessly clean. Recommendations were given for dinner and bookings were made on our behalf. I can’t fault Huntingtower Lodge. Delightful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much auscnd for your kind review. We do n't usually accept single night bookings and you were lucky that we had a gap that night. We run Huntingtower Lodge as a sustainable and eco-friendly business and we like to encourage people to stay a bit longer in the area, the scenery is very beautiful here and there is a lot to do. I hope that you had a great time on Skye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and recently stayed here and I couldn't be more pleased. The overall location is excellent: the Ft. William area is a great jumping off point to much of the Highlands. The B&B property itself was also excellent: it has a very modern feel with huge windows that provide excellent views of the loch. (We stayed in the "Ardgour" room, which I recommend, but obviously each room will be unique.) Everything was clean and beautiful.

But not only did the location and room exceed my expectations, but the owners are just unbelievably helpful and kind. I don't even want to enumerate all of the things that Chris and Jackie did for us, because I don't want to set unrealistic expectations for them with every guest. I will just say that did everything they could for us to make our stay pleasant. From recommendations on where to go and what to see, to small personal kindnesses, to their wonderful morning breakfast service.

I would give this place my absolute highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you David O for your lovely recommendation, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay in Fort William and you are right it is an excellent base for exploring the Highlands because as you found there is so much to do around here. It was a pleasure to meet you both and if you are ever back in Scotland we hope to welcome you back to Huntingtower Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The spotlessly clean room was amazing with stunning views over the loch. Breakfast was plentiful with homemade muffins as well as the other usual breakfast items. The hosts were very welcoming. We will be recommending this place to everyone and will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at Huntingtower Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much HBovill for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it when guests take the time to write us a review. I hope that you both had a good time over in Aviemore and that you got some great photos. We look forward to welcoming you both back if you are up this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntingtower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Lodge

Address: Druimarbin, Fort William PH33 6RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever the weather or time of year, relax and enjoy the West Highlands in 21st century comfort at Huntingtower Lodge. Set in a stunning position on 5 acres of hillside, overlooking Loch Linnhe, the Lodge is the perfect base from which to explore the Lochaber and Argyll area. Wi-fi throughout and a laptop is available for guest use.VisitScotland 4* Gold, GTBS "Gold" standard. Walker, Climber, Cyclist, Biker and Pink Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Huntingtower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingtower Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingtower Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.