We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Fort William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Fort William to your Saves list
Premier Inn Fort William
Loch Iall | An Aird, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here, both because of it’s proximity to the rail station.
At check in the girl on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Interested that we had just completed the WHW ( even although I am sure they have many guests that have done the same thing).
Our room was at the far end of the second floor corridor (144) it overlooked the shinty park and had a magnificent view of the mountains. The bed was big and comfortable with good pillows too, we slept well even although the room was a bit warm. Bathroom was clean and had a good shower and plenty hot water.
It does what it says on the tin – It’s a Premier inn – no frills hotel but all in all pretty good if slightly overpriced at £85 room only. I do feel that at this price wifi should be free and not only the first 30 mins, especially considering that we had just spent a week walking from Glasgow and most of the other places we stayed along the way had free wifi (including the B&Bs).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Many thanks for your review! I’ll be sure to pass your feedback on to the team. Firstly I must say congratulations on completing the West Highland Way, that final walk to you room must have felt like a mile after all of that! We do strive to meet the needs of all of our guests and it’s great to hear we met your expectations on this occasion. Prices can change with demand however we do have a team to monitor this as well as our wifi charges; all comments relating to this are passed back to our marketing team to review.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    270
    122
    37
    12
See reviews for
193
253
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here, the only complaint i would have was that the corridors were far too long, i was in room 23 and my father was in room 48, (i have never understood when you book two rooms they always seem to be as far away as possible from each other). but apart from that the rooms were clean and comfortable.

The hotel was close to the centre of town and was easy to get to the main roads to visit other places and there is plenty of parking available here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review; we are pleased you enjoyed your room and the fantastic location of our hotel. Although our corridors can seem quite the long the benefit of rooms nearer the end is less people walking past your door and it’s even quieter for our guests. We do always try to keep groups and joint bookings as close together as we can but unfortunately this sometimes isn’t always possible. For any future stays with us or at any Premier Inn please do contact us ahead of your arrival so we can advise on rooms and any other requirements. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

first the positives. comfy beds, good shower, well equipped room. hotel very handily situated a short stroll into town. The breakfast in the Brewers Fayre next door is hearty and good value. There is plenty of parking.

only slight complaints.
there is no secure place to lock bikes, and a sign up specifically banning the taking of bikes into the hotel. considering the location of the hotel, essentially in mountain biking country, a stones throw from Nevis range, this seems very short sighted.
The temperature in the hotel was roasting hot, as mentioned elsewhere, the windows don't open much.
A sign from the roundabout for the hotel would have been useful, my Tomtom essentially decided the hotel was halfway round a nearby roundabout.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review; it’s always good to hear guests enjoyed their stay with us! As you stated our location attracts many mountain bikers and although we do no permit these bikes within the hotel for health and safety reasons we do have bike racks within our car park which is covered by 24 hour cctv and our reception desk is also covered 24 hours a day. We do appreciate that although our location is situation close to town it can be harder to find for first time visitors and are working on ways to overcome this. For future stays with any of our hotel please do contact us at any time prior to your arrival if you have any questions or require directions. We are always happy to help! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here the night before and after walking the Great Glen Way.This Premier Inn lived up to the usual good expectations of a Premier Inn although we were not able to get in on an offer, so I thought the price we paid for b&b seemed high compared to other b&bs. I think this one has been extended recently and when we arrived, reception offered us a quiet room with a view of Ben Nevis which was good of them. I was pleased to see that Premier Inns have now added a make up mirror with lights for us ladies - always one of my complaints that there was not a decent mirror with lights for this (other than the bathroom mirror which invariably is steamed up!) Breakfast was buffet style which was also very good with the offer of a choice of how you wanted your eggs cooked if you were having the full English breakfast. I also am a fan of Costa coffee which is what Premier Inns serve -so good to get a decent stronger Cappuccino instead of the wishy washy ones most places serve. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station and the bus station which is handy for those using public transport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to read our Fort William Premier Inn met your expectations! We do always endeavour to give our guests the best value for their money and we have a team that closely monitor the prices across all our sites to ensure they are competitively priced and this is why the can increase with demand. I’m a big fan of the all you can eat Premier Breakfasts too, especially the endless supply of Costa Coffee!
I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room, we are very lucky being so close to local amenities and the Ben; maybe this could be your next challenge for when you return.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and a huge congratulations on completing the Great Glen Way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We've long submitted to the lack of character of Premier Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses for the benefit of modern, clean rooms and relative consistency. This one wasn't particularly cheap @ £75 per night per room, but quiet and so a good night's sleep was had. Avoid rooms on the south side, facing the railway, unless you like baking in the sun, as the windows only open a little way and there is no aircon. Hope you don't get "David" on reception either. Dour and unhelpful. Thank the other staff for overruling him and avoiding a scathing review here. My highlight was a 1-mile stroll along the waterside, through woods, across a tumbling river to Inverlochy Castle - high tide, blue sky and mist rolling off the loch - beautiful!

Room Tip: As above, south side for sun, north for shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn for 6 nights from 17th until 22nd May 2014.
We had a decent sized room right at the end or the corridor on the first floor right opposite the shinty field.
A lovely view across to the mountains, which even on a rainy day was very beautiful.

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, gave us ideas on restaurants etc. Even the cleaning staff were bright and breezy and always ready for a bit of banter.

The room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and we had everything we needed.

Very conveniently placed as we had booked to go on the Jacobite Steam Railway.

All in all a very pleasant stay, well done PTI.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor and at the end of the long corridor. Was a bit of a trek with luggage but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to review your stay with us. We were delighted to read all your comments and are pleased you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn Fort William. It remains our objective to provide a high standard of service and we're pleased you feel we achieved this. The site is great location wise for events around Lochaber, Ben Nevis and the Jacobite train as you mentioned. That train has been long on my to-do list from moving to Fort William. Also known locally and by tourists as "the Harry Potter train" we have had guests dressed up in wizard and witch outfits staying with us, solely for the experience of the train! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room was quiet and clean. Bathroom was clean. Bed was comfy and extra pillows available.
This is a Premier Inn. So nothing special, it does everything adequately and is in good location and easy to get too. It can get busy as many hikers use it when climbing Ben Nevis.Staff were fine. Breakfast is next door in the Brewers Fayre. Standard assortment of breakfast fayre. As for AJ C complaining about no Gluten Free bread. Wow. Because you did not forewarn them, and they had none, you write a critical review. You have the intolerance, and expect everyone to Jump because of it. Wake up and take of the responsibilty. There is nothing wrong with this Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Manager at Premier Inn Fort William, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful and friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Given the location, it is perfect for West Highland Way walkers and mountain climbing enthusiasts. Incidentally, Fort William is hosting the World Mountain Biking Championships where we are expecting around 22,000 spectators so a very busy month indeed! Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn aging in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Fort William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Fort William

Address: Loch Iall | An Aird, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Fort William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Fort William
Fort William Premier Inn
Premier Inn Fort William Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Fort William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.