We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Premier Inn in a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Fort William

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Fort William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Fort William
Loch Iall | An Aird, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Typical Premier Inn in a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel in the past. The hotel is typical Premier Inn. A nice clean room, and a comfortable bed. Located next door is a nice pub which does quite acceptable food.

The hotel is located in central Fort William being both convenient for walking into the town centre and the train station. Also next door is a Morrisons supermarket and a McDonalds.

Overall a comfortable and practical hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    219
    104
    27
    9
See reviews for
154
211
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

One gets what one pays for and this Premier Inn is no exception: it's perfectly fine. The location is great and staff were very friendly and helpful indeed. The breakfast is ok (not quite as good as at other Premier Inns I have stayed at). What let the hotel down for me was a weird smell in the bathroom - probably because of limited ventilation. It wasn't awful, but not nice either. I would still stay again as I know that this was not a problem in all rooms.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There are some things not easily controlled by the Hotel itself and noisy neighbours is one of them. We stayed here two seperate nights with a break between while visiting Skye. We got a good rate (non-refundable advance booking) and paid for cooked breakfast for both stays. Our first night was Easter Sunday and the place was packed full. We were given a ground floor room and therein lay the problem... in the early hours it felt and sounded like the room occupants above were a tramolining team of travelling children. In defence of the parents without a social conscience travelling with them, part of the problem I believe lies in the structure of the floor which lend itself to being noisy for those below. We lay and lay praying it would end rather than have to get dressed half-groggy and trail down to Reception to see if they could do anything. Eventually it did, but we woke feeling very tired in the morning. I didn't go down the 'money back for a bad night's sleep guarantee' route (...I expect there's a need to inform management 'at the time' etc anyway)... we simply asked if it was possible to get an upper floor room at the far end of the building on our return a few days later? The kind receptionist willingly obliged and our second stay was much quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor on arrival if possible...at the end nearest the overflow carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Again couldn't fault the hotel chain. Very clean and you know what you are getting. Free parking, pub next door, Morrisons next door, A quick five minute walk and you are on the high street. It's got your usual trinket stores, but it is also the end of the 'west highlands walk' and you will see plenty of walkers celebrating.

We ate at the Grog and Gruel, and at Crannog....both excellent.

Ben Nevis makes this an atmpospheric place. There are also some good outdoor shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A good location for the town which is only a short walk away and great value if you can get the £29 per room offer as we did. It is close to the railway station and shops and the breakfast and dinner were very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here after a week of walking the West Highland Way. Fantastic room for myself and family - spacious, warm (at times a bit too warm). Right next door to a Brewers Fayre restaurant which is handy if your legs and feet are suffering after a weeks walking.
Downside - make sure you hang your do not disturb sign outside your door as the chanmbermaids have a habit of assuming your up and gone and sometimes forget to knock on the door before entering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed overnight here while preparing for a hike and it was very relaxing. I've stayed in a lot of Premier Inn's and this one is no different to the rest of the group. Clean, decently appointed and well maintained.

I only paid £39 for my room, which is great value in a busy place like Fort William and this hotel is better cared for than most of the 3rd rate hotels in Lochaber.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Loch Eil on the west side are quieter, though those on the Ben Nevis side have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Fort William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Fort William

Address: Loch Iall | An Aird, Fort William PH33 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Fort William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel Fort William
Fort William Premier Inn
Premier Inn Fort William Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Fort William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.