We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and well located b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansefield Guest House

Save Saved
You added Mansefield Guest House to your Saves list
Mansefield Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansefield Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cnr A830 and Hillview Drive | Corpach, Fort William PH33 7LT , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 115 Fort William B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very nice and well located b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent three nights here during a short trip to the Scottish Highlands. The Mansefield Guest House in located right behind Corpach train station, around 20 minutes from the town centre of Fort William. It is a very quiet and quite beautiful location, with small but very clean and confortable rooms, some with views of the Ben Nevis mountain. But what really stands here is the local knowledge of owners Bev and Toby - and their superb cooking skills. Chose to have dinner at the B&B one night and prove for yourself. I would sure recommend the place and return on a next opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
41
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed overnight during a driving holiday of Scotland. We thought the place was very nice and well-refurbished. The breakfast of smoked salmon and potato pancakes was the best b&b breakfast I've ever had. The b&b is slightly outside of Fort William amd not in walking distance. Overall a good experience and we wish we'd stayed another night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had an overnight stop in Fort William while on a 10 day tour of the Highlands. The only disappointing accommodation we had over the 10 nights was Mansefield House. At £80 per night b&b it was also the most expensive which is intersting in itself. Although the owner was friendly we felt the website details and photos were rather misleading. The house is quirky but also quite shabby with a great deal of poor DIY especially in the ensuite bathroom. The location in Corpach is fine for Fort William and is directly en route to Mallaig. Breakfast was good quality but the dining room very sombre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a wonderful experience. We were welcomed by Bev and introduced to the house. Everything was prefect and very neat. The room was absolutely fabulous and we enjoyed the brochure with info on the house and the owners. Breakfast was excellent and Bev was a perfect host. We can really recommend this guest house. Although it is in the main street we had no problems with noise caused by passin cars. We had a lovely view from our bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Mansefield guest house for 5 nights in May 2012. We had a great holiday and Bev and Toby were friendly and helpful hosts. We were new to the area and our hosts gave us a simple walk plan which was a highlight of our holiday. We enjoyed the food and hospitality and the quality of the room was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Very comfy big bed, good breakfast choice and quality. My only comment would be as we were on holiday breakfast between 7-8:30 is possibly a little early but we never enquired as to whether we could have it later but given the very friendly and welcoming hosts I'm sure it wouldn't have been a problem. Great walking recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just stayed with Bev and Toby for the fourth time and as usual it was wonderful.
The food and accommodation is first class and Bev and Toby are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansefield Guest House

Address: Cnr A830 and Hillview Drive | Corpach, Fort William PH33 7LT , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansefield Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in mature gardens with mountain views, Mansefield, a popular guest house in Fort William, lies on the Road to the Isles and only a few hundred metres from the Caledonian Canal and the Great Glen Way. Corpach Station is 200 metres away and the local bus stop is directly opposite our house, easy. We have 6 en-suite rooms, including a well sized single room. 3 rooms overlook Loch Linnhe and the Ardgour hills, with views of Ben Nevis and the Grey Corries, whilst the other 3 rooms enjoys beautiful garden views. (Take 5 mins on the window seat and watch the antics of our garden birds!) Guests are welcome to relax in the sitting room overlooking one of our gardens. The Victorian style of the room is emphasized by the log fire, making for a cosy atmosphere during those colder nights we sometimes have here in Scotland! There are many books and magazines to read, in addition to lots of tourist information to help you plan your next day's sightseeing excursions or assault of the "Ben". Our garage can by used to store your bikes, and we have a drying room available for your wet weather gear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Mansefield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansefield Guest House Hotel Fort William
Mansefield Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansefield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.