We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Ben” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Goosie1
1 review
“Well done Ben”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Stayed at the Ben for the first time for a couple of nights in June for a golfing trip.
Excellent facilities, great friendly staff, and management.
Food and service superb. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a great location and facilities.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — Very busy
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    154
    106
    53
    64
See reviews for
81
162
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We travelled up for the Rememberance Day services at Fort William and Spean Bridge and got soaked at both. So glad to get back to theBen Nevis Hotel.

The service was excellent and the staff attentive. It more than made up for the weather. I could not fault any part of my visit.
A big well done to the Chef especially.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed with some friends back in October, last stayed 2 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it, beware their has been a change in management and it shows, not for the better.

Now caters mostly for the coaching market, single guests are not important. Whilst most staff seemed friendly enough they desperately need training, no drink service with dinner as previously, hotel was cold. Food was the worst we have been served. Breakfast had its usual selection but poorly presented and cooked breakfast was cold.

Rooms were cold and not very clean, lots of little maintenance problems showing lack of care in the building.

Heard other guest complaining about similar issues.

Once had a lovely welcoming team of people lead by a young manager called Brian, miss Caroline's warm smiley face at reception and Mahath with his wit at the bar, wonder where they have all gone.

Not sure what is happening at the Ben Nevis, Does it have any management?, think owners need to get a grip and sort the place out, such a shame, looks like it is going under, too late for us as we will certainly not be back. Don't waste your time spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leisure Club
  • Disliked — Very Cold
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I was in Fort William for a couple of nights on business, and my employers booked me into the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Centre. I went to Tripadvisor, read the reviews, and thought “This is going to be interesting.” I then looked at the hotel’s website, and was not very impressed. Words like ‘dated’ and ‘amateur’ came to mind.

The immediate impression of the hotel was that it was a fairly average hotel. Some parts of the public areas were fairly unremarkable (the reception and the dining room), but other parts looked distinctly dated. I felt they would have been fine in the 1970s, but . . . that was a long time ago. The ‘ballroom’ reminded me of the interior of a village hall - and I don’t mean a modern one.

Somewhat to my surprise, the fob for my room key said “Milton Hotel and Leisure Centre.” (The name was changed about 5 years ago, but the key fobs have not been updated.) Another surprise was my room itself - number 524. As I walked along the corridor I noticed that carpets looked worn, and the walls were somewhat in need of redecoration. But the room itself was completely different: recently renovated, tastefully decorated, with nice furniture - I couldn’t fault it. It was also very clean. Then I went into the en-suite bathroom. Another surprise: while the bedroom had clearly been renovated in the last few years, the bathroom looked like it dated to the 1960s - though the bath itself was quite new. There was nothing wrong with it - and it was very clean - it just didn’t fit with the room. The shower looked cheap, but worked fine - though was subject to sudden changes in water pressure. The room was quiet, and I heard nothing from neighbouring rooms or from outside. The view (mostly over a field with sheep in it) was fine, if not stunning.

Speaking to other guests over breakfast the following morning, it became clear that not all rooms were as nice as the one I was in, and some people had been bothered by traffic noise from the A82 which runs in front of the hotel. Perhaps other rooms will be upgraded in the next few years.

There was a buffet breakfast with a wide selection of items, and I thought it was very good indeed. Evening meals were quite acceptable. I did not use the leisure centre facilities, so cannot comment on it. The staff all seemed pleasant and helpful.

Would I stay again? I doubt it. It's not really my sort of place.

Would I recommend it? It would really depend on the price of a room, which room you were given, and whether you were interested in the leisure facilities. That said, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, and have no complaints.

  • Liked — nice room, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Some parts are in need of modernisation and/or redecoration
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We love this Hotel and its staff. Occasionally things go wrong, but for heavens sake, go with the flow! I first visited this hotel 35 years ago when it was quite new and returned 12 years ago with my family and have been going every February since. Everyone is helpful (except for a wierd housekeeper they had one year, but we still laugh about her now - so what!) and professional - this Hotel is in the middle of the Highlands and struggles to recruit staff, but it does what it says on the tin and gives great value for money, a great base for the exploring the Highlands, fantastic food, and a great welcome. If you are reading this, give it a go, have an open mind and remember you will be staying in one of the most gorgeous places on earth, have a full belly a clean comfy bed and a warm generous welcome - ignore the moaners, try for yourself. Forgot to mention the leisure club - its great and a fantastic way to work up an appetite before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western isles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

i would just like to say what a great time we had staying at your hotel also the staff were outstanding.
ps will be back soon

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

This is not a brilliant hotel and I'm sure there are better places to spend your money in Fort William. Whilst our bedroom was large, comfortable and nicely decorated, the bathroom was in desperate need of a renovation and didn't look especially clean. Thankfully the leisure centre was fantastic and we spent time there every day so used those showers. The breakfast is usually one of my favourite parts of staying in a hotel but this one was disappointing - terrible coffee and fairly uninspiring selection of food.

  • Liked — The Leisure Centre
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in scenic area with view of Ben Nevis, 1 mile north of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.