We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wee Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a lovely 1 night stay, actually surprised myself and used the leisure facilities and enjoyed it . The staff were nice and friendly. Our room was lovely and comfortable. We had a room at the back but nothing to complain about. Would happily stay in the same room again. The courtesy tray had plenty choice which was good. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely . Breakfast was very good too. Soundproofing could be better but everyone was considerate in the evening. A fair bit from the town if walking but we were happy to stay in the hotel. Good value all round, will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    179
    114
    54
    65
See reviews for
90
193
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen/Cardiff, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked to stay in this hotel for a weekend away. Our main reason for booking this hotel was the leisure facilities, which I must say did not disappoint.

Our room was right next to the bar, which was good in some ways but a bit frustrating on Saturday night when there was a pub singer performing all the "classics". There were no instructions on the room and this lead to one cold shower before we figured it out and the bath itself looked a bit old and cracked. Aside from that the bathroom was nicely furnished and a lot more modern than the rest of the room. The upholstery was a bit dated aesthetically and the tv seemed to have come straight from the 70s but everything was clean and suited us just fine. Plenty of room, comfortable bed, nice and warm etc. The adjoining closet with desk, large mirror and wardrobe was a nice touch.

We booked a package that included breakfast, dinner and a glass of wine each. The breakfast included everything you'd want from cereal to pancakes to a full range of cooked breakfast items. Some of it was better than others (game sausages and haggis were a highlight), but being a buffet it wasn't very fresh. Dinner was rather disappointing both nights. There wasn't much choice for vegetarians (one main course). The quality of the food was average. I had a total of 6 courses and out of them there was only one desert I would have again. None of it was bad as such. I would have been very disappointed paying the £19.95 it would have cost, but having it included in the price, it satisfied our appetites and the wine was pretty good. The service was generally very good but there was one waitress that would serve us without saying anything and just didn't seem very happy to be there.

The location wasn't great. It was perfect for driving to Ben Nevis, but was a long walk to Fort William itself. We ended up driving in when we went and parking is either free or incredibly cheap so it worked out alright.

The one thing that moved this review up to Very Good was the leisure club. The changing facilities were great, gym was well equipped, the pool was a good size and temperature and the hot tub helped a lot after a long day of walking!

You'll find plenty of better places around to eat and drink but it's not bad. If you want a decent hotel with great facilities then it fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in a nice large room in the annex (they are updating the rooms in the corridor). Great view of Ben Nevis. Good leisure facilities with swimming pool, gym and steam and sauna rooms.Very good for the price, however breakfast was average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for a family weekend over Easter and found it to be an acceptable hotel at a reasonable price. There was nothing I experienced that I would complain about, however there were a few things that might have been a little better. I was allocated a room in a part separate to the main hotel building, the decor seemed a little tired and there was a noticeable draft from the windows (this wouldn't have been as bad if it hadn't been so cold outside). There didn't appear to be much soundproofing between neighbouring rooms and the hallway. As it turned out, other guests were considerate and there was very little disturbance in the evening times. On a positive note, I did enjoy my stay and would happily stay again. I greatly appreciated the chocolate Easter eggs left in the room, which was a really nice little touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

very nice and friendly hotel gym was very nice as well as the pool,room was a single occupancy room which was comfortable for a over nite stay.i must say that i felt that the single room was small but very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an ideal getaway in Scotland. Rooms a bit small however very adequate. Bar and lounge area very relaxed. Breakfast was fantastic. The pool sauna and steam room fantastic. All in a good hotel to stay would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As a family who travel up every year over the Easter break, we love this hotel. We stayed on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast tariff and the food is always good quality, with a varied menu every night; there is always something for everyone. The breakfast has a large selection of hot and cold items, enough to suit everyone’s needs. The leisure club probably has one of the best pools in any hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms, although the one we stayed in could do with a bit of a makeover, are always warm and the beds are comfortable, with fantastic views over Ben. The only downside is that all the smokers congregate outside the main entrance and the waft of occasional smoke odours can make its way into the bedrooms; a rather unpleasant experience for non smokers. The same can be said for the loud guests who take it upon themselves to have conversations at 2.00am outside at the top of their voices. This said, it is not the hotels fault that there are inconsiderate people within their hotel - it seems to be a trait across the world. The staff are some of the friendliest you could ever meet. From David and Morgan on Reception; to Sharon, Claudiu and Maria in the restaurant. They all make the experience of staying in this hotel a very welcoming one. This hotel is not the smartest in town, but what it lacks in finesse, it certainly makes up for in hospitality and a friendly and welcoming feel. That and the fact that we knew it would be a good day when we awoke every morning to crystal blue, cloudless skies and a clear view of the top of Ben; especially when we knew it was freezing cold and snowing at home. Who says the weather’s bad in Scotland! We can’t wait to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in scenic area with view of Ben Nevis, 1 mile north of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.