We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent Friday to Monday in the hotel. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Our room was on ground floor of annex. Room was lovely. Toilet a bit dated but immaculately clean. Room was very spacious, with a super king sized bed. Our meals were fantastic and staff were very attentive. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel again with great service. The leisure facilities were fantastic. We used them twice during our stay. Earlier reviews don't do this hotel justice. We will definitely return. The only down side would be the bar meals. We had lunch in the bar on the Sunday. Very highly priced and not as good a standard as the restaurant food. We paid £23 for a starter, two baguettes and two pints of Shandy. A half pint of lemonade will set you back £1.70!!! Wi-Fi is good in reception area, but not in annexe.
Overall, a great break in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    180
    114
    54
    65
See reviews for
90
193
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We book this hotel in a travel around Scotland because we couldn’t get another in the area booking online. When we arrive there we discover that this was the most expensive and plainer hotel in the area. A kind of hotel accommodating lots of those low-costs trips coaches, I suppose. We discover that there’s a lot of charming and cheaper B&B and small boutique hotels around the area that are simply not in the Internet (and they most to do so). This Ben Nevis Hotel is dull, with bad maintenance, small and ugly rooms and serving horrible and horrible meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here last Saturday night as part of an organised train excursion from the Midlands.
The Reception staff coped admirably with 150 people turning up at the same time!
The hotel had much more ‘kerb’ appeal that I was expecting including a small indoor pool that looked inviting.
Decoration in public area was twee (tartan and antlers) and the corridors and rooms were dated.
Our room was a large double. Cobwebs above the bed and two patches of damp / mould around the windows.
Service in the bar was excellent even though they were rushed off their feet!
The food in the restaurant was much better than we were expecting however the service was iffy. No smiles, No ‘thank yous’, just a conveyor belt.
Would we stay again? Yes, we probably would for one or two nights if we were passing through.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Couldn't help but feel like we got stung here. The from the pictures we saw before our stay, the place seemed quaint and cost. In hindsight, the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club really has more of a motel-type vibe to it than anything else. The rooms are a little cramped and dingy, but that's not the end of the world. The poor service was what capped it off for me.

Long story short, the hotel restaurant overcharged our group of 5 for our dinner by 160 GBP. The meal was charged to our rooms so we didn't get to see the bill until we were checking out. When we eventually did get the bill we noticed that we had been charged for 10 main course meals - not for 5. We asked for them to fix the issue, but the girl on reception acted like she had no idea how to fix it, so she made a call to the manager on duty.

The manager said he couldn't rectify the situation because as far as he knew we could have ordered and eaten all 10 meals. He would have to speak to the chef. The chef couldn't be contacted, and we had to get going so as not to miss our arranged transportation. The staff refused to remedy the issue without verification - and that's fine - it's the fact they treated us as if we were trying to pull a sly one that really got to me.

We had to leave the hotel before a resolution was made and our attempts to rectify the situation after we had left have gone completely unaddressed.

A disappointing stay. The surrounding area is absolutely stunning - I definitely recommend traveling to and exploring this part of Scotland...

...Just not at the Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Both of us traveled up from Birmingham to climb Ben Nevis. Stayed at this hotel. Great value and even better atmosphere. Was always busy with guests which gave reception, bar, lounge and dining area great atmosphere. Stayed Sat and Sun nights in late Feb. 20 mins walk from rail station, 30 min walk to mountain path up Nevis. Did this easily on the Sunday day - 8 hours there to top and back. Hotel is on edge of Fort William on main road north to Skye. Best value stay is booking through own hotel chain website (strathmorehotels.com) for offers (we did not book this way but best deals to include dinner etc available through their site). WIFI good quality throughout for streaming live sport etc. Good quality hotel buffet breakfast and best value 3 course evening meal and coffee was £15.00 extra PP on B&B price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

we booked by phone for 2 night bed and breakfast was cheeper to book through hotel . On check in staff said theres ur keys pointed to where we were to go and that was that, we found our room eventually.
Was very happy with the room we has 405. Bed was massive pic to follow, tea coffee and hot choco, and biscuits, abottle of bubbly and mint chocos , iron and board provided. hair dryer awell.
bathroom was small but had everything it was ment to have , shampoo, cond . shower gel , soap , shower cap , wot more do u need ......
View was up u big massive mountian , dnt know name ......was lovely .to open ur window in morning and see it .....

would defo be booking again

most of the staff were very helpfull nothing was diffecult for them they always helped

Only bad point was one of our windows wasnt double glazed , tv could have been bigger , but thats not a bad thing

Room Tip: we loved 405 massive room and bed to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Myself & friends had planned to do the 3 peaks so we looked at places to stay & my friend William booked this place for one night, as we were making an early start on benn Nevis we didn't arrive till late & left early we only slept in the room however the check in was simple the service was great even with us arriving late nothing seamed to be a problem, the only regret is not staying for few days as the place seemed beautiful as did fort William itself, I do plan to return one day with my partner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Rd, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in scenic area with view of Ben Nevis, 1 mile north of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.