We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday in a beautiful hotel with fabulous views and lovely, welcoming staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clan Macduff Hotel to your Saves list
Clan Macduff Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday in a beautiful hotel with fabulous views and lovely, welcoming staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was our third visit to Clan Macduff and we were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor. Well, we need not have worried. We arrived after a 7 hour trip and were greeted by a warm, welcoming receptionist who showed us to our rooms. The hotel had changed but only for the better (and it was fantastic the last twice we were there!) We'd booked for bed, breakfast and evening meal and we were not disappointed-the food was delicious and the service was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we met. My father is disabled and uses a wheelchair and while a lot of extra effort was made to meet his needs it was not done overtly and it contributed to him having a great time. All in all it was just the holiday my parents needed after a very difficult year. We would just like to thank everyone at Clann Macduff for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable and we will definitely recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, Manager at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
It was our pleasure to have you staying with us again. The sound of laughter is still echoing round the dining room, we enjoyed your stay as much as you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    172
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
90
253
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brechin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Just returned from wonderful two day trip to this hotel.Comfortable,clean and such friendly and well trained staff.food really good,yes even the breakfast.the people who described the breakfast as paltry,can be summed up in one word " Greedy "

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Our family of 6 adults stayed in 3 rooms for 3 nights at Clan MacDuff in the third week of Aug 2010. We were extremely happy with our stay and would give it 5 stars without a moment's hesitation. There is simply nothing that we can think of with regards to this hotel that we would like to complain about. The things that were very good and commendable are:
- Spotlessly clean rooms with daily cleaning to a high standard
- Very friendly, courteous and helpful staff (readily changed our room on request)
- Normal sized bathroom with good hot shower facilities
- Nice views from many rooms overlooking the lake (though that is a common feature of many hotels in Fort William)

I am surprised why certain people have complained about its breakfast. I think it was quite good and gave decent vegetarian options (in which we were interested). Yes, one could not go and pick up the stuff but that, in my view, is not because they didn't want you to eat more but rather due to logistical reasons. With 50 odd tables, it would be a nightmare if 100 guests or so were getting up all the time and going to the cereals table, etc. The staff in the breakfast room readily gave whatever was required and in whatever quantities. We didn't notice any signs of disapproval when we asked for a second glass of juice or more toast. I definitely would not agree with others regarding the quality of breakfast provided.

I think the USP of this place is inspite of it being a large hotel (about 50 odd rooms), it has maintained that small B&B atmosphere. You can feel that personal touch which is usually missing in a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Clan Macduff is situated in a beautiful location. Make sure you book a room with a view of Loch lihnnie preferably with a balcony. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean with en-suite. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotels furniture is dated but that doesnt bother me as long as its clean which it was. We stayed for three nights beds made every day and towels changed. Breakfast, choice of fruit juices cereals and a cooked breakfast which is small but I found to be ok. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at The Clan MacDuff, very friendly and warm staff and we were lucky the weather was great. The view from our room was fabulous and contrary to other reviews my breakfest was very tasty and the perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

THe room was lovley and spotlessly clean. The rooms as indicated on their website are that bit larger. The lady we met on arrival was very efficient, welcoming and very nice. The cleaning staff do a terrific job. Everything was spotless. We had a problem with our TV and reported it, but nothing was done about it. Of the ~ 8 channels we had, there were problems with 3 of them. Sound and no picture on one channel, picture and no sound on another and another channel where the picture just kept freezing.
The breakfast was more than disappointing and really the best word I could use to describe it, is 'mean'. The portions were tiny and you weren't alloewd to help yourself to anything, in case you ate too much; I presume. It was a real pity about the breakfast as the place in general is quite nice with terrific views, plenty of parking etc. Really need to do a better breakfast though. We ate on the road again, about an hour after checking out. The coffee was so strong, the food was cold and woudl appear to have been cooked about 2 hours earlier. LIke I said we enjoyed it quite well with the breakfast being a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, General Manager at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Unfortunately, when you were staying with us, the area was suffering from signal interference due to work being carried out on the masts for the digitail switchover.
We do not have a buffet breakfast however the quantity is entirely up to each diner, and our waiting staff are only too happy to serve you with whatever quantity you would like.
I am pleased you enjoed all other aspects of your stay and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at The Clan Macduff for 3 nights due in part to reading their description of waitress service with/ full Scotish breakfast etc. We did indeed experience waiter sevice but unfortunately the food was dreadful.for the following reasons:-
>Poor/limited choice
>Extremely small amounts/portions of food served on small plates presumably to make it look like we had more food.
>For example bacon,beans+tomato comprised just one small,over cooked (tough) rasher,,half a tomato with just one spoonful of beans. We tried other combinations with similar results.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, General Manager at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
We provide a relaxing dining room area with waited service allowing guests more time to enjoy the ever changing views of Loch Linnhe and the mountains & glen beyond. There are no resrictions on quantity of food or number of courses you may choose to eat. We also offer far more than is listed on the breakfast menu as we cater for many nationalities and cultures, and therefore there are too many items to list on a breakfast menu. I do appreciate that waited service at breakfast is becoming a rarity (as staffing costs are reduced with buffet service) , but please treat breakfast as you would any other meal and communicate your wishes and wants to the waiting staff, they will do all they can to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan Macduff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.