We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay there again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clan Macduff Hotel to your Saves list
Clan Macduff Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would never stay there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The meal in the restuarant was not worth the £18 per head charged, the lamb hotpot had 4 small bits of lamb in gravy, the roast potatoes were almost impossible to cut (the previous nights microwaved?) the bread and butter pudding with custard arrived in a dirty plate and when turned upside down stayed in the plate. When we complained we were told that it was all a matter of taste!! We were given a room in the annex which had a musty smell when you entered the main door, the room was shabby but clean. One of our party was given a room that was dark and dingy at the back of the said annex with a window facing a wall. I would not recommend this hotel or stay in it again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, owner/manager at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2009
This complaint and the complaint titled "unfriendly staff, rooms are clean...." relate to a group of 9 people who stayed at the hotel on Friday 26th and Saturday 27th June 2009 and some of the points have been answered in my response to that complaint..
The question of value is one of a personal valuation but I feel £18.00 for a three course meal (each course with a choice of 4 home-made items) plus tea, coffee and home-made butter shortbread, waitress served with linen tableclothes and napkins plus basket of home-made seeded brown bread, is a reasonable price. I also feel that the complaint about lack of lamb in the main course and the mark on the outside of the dessert plate was treated seriously with a full refund of £18.00 being given to the gentleman who complained.
The point about the rooms in the annexe being shabby I feel is extremely unfair as the annexe underwent a complete refrubishment 4 years ago when it was upgraded to 3 * requirements. This involved every internal wall being removed and new confirgeration of eight larger bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms, replacing the previous 10 rooms. The rooms are all painted for the start of each season and there is a rolling maintenance plan that keeps the bedrooms up to standard. A new telephone system has been installed and this year the old 14" 4 channel TV system was replaced with 19" flat screen TV with 30 channels in all bedrooms.
The single room with the poor view is answered fully in my response to the next complaint but suffice to say this room meets all the current VisitScotland 3* standards.
I would urge you to read other trip advisor comments to get a balanced opinion of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    175
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
95
261
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights the receptions was friendly. The rooms smelt a bit musty and one of them had no view not even of the car park and was small and dark. but were clean. the bar meal we had on our first night was good though the fish was frozen and the veg was over cooked with the mash potato not home made. breakfast was by far the best meal we had with very friendly staff. I would not recommend the dining room the menu is limited. food is over cooked from frozen. staff were rude and would not listen to any complaint, this was also true of the elderly lady who we assume was the manager/owner. I am surprised this hotel has a 3 star rating the only thing this hotel has is a view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I found this hotel on the internet and following the tripadvisor reviews booked it for two nights on our way to and from Skye. With staying only one night in either direction we booked the cheapest rooms which were quite small although more than adequate. Next time I would book a Loch View room as the hotel is located right on the side of the loch with stunning views across the lake and mountains opposite.
The breakfast is very good with the "Full Scottish" if required and is all waitress service which makes a nice change these days. We also ate in the bar one night and in the dinning room the other night . Both meals were excellant. There is plenty of parking.
The hotel was such a reasonable price at only £ 29.50 per person for bed and breakfast in the standard rooms, I wasn't expecting too much but I was very pleasantly surprised and would definately stay there again.
The fish and chips were delicious !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Great location, good, wholesome food but nothing fancy. The room, overlooking the Loch was clean and very comfortable. The staff were all efficient and friendly and we were made most welcome. Terrific value for money. We hope to reurn before too long.

Don't be put off by the proximity of the A82 - it's quiet at night and caused us no problems.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

For several years we have stayed at the Clan Macduff in October, and sometimes in May as well. We cannot praise the hotel too highly for its rooms, food and extremely friendly and obliging owners and staff who make their guests feel so welcome. We hope to keep returning for many more visits.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Be carefull when booking direct with hotel. Told room was available was given a discription of the room.
Receptionist took my credit card info + security code said she would email a confirmation number to receive an email the next day saying they had no accomadations available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDuffFortWilliam, owner at Clan Macduff Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
It was unfortunate that this booking was made from the USA at around 8am (UK time) when our reception is at it's busiest with check-outs etc. Unfortunately the arrival and departure dates were confused and an error was made. We tried to rectify this as soon as possible and apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were heading south from the north west coast and needed an overnight stop without previous booking. Passed the Macduff and noticed the vacancy sign so called in to see what was available. On entering the reception area I first thought we had entered one of those old fashioned hotels that are long past their best and if you sneeze you upset the dust (and guests!) of years. I was totally wrong. The receptionist was immediately helpful and offered to show us a room so we could see if we wanted it. Nothing exceptional maybe but clean, comfortable and of reasonable size with a good view of the loch. Decided to eat in the bar. Food and service were very good. Same thing with breakfast although a little "organised" (perhaps to be expected when very busy) but no real wait for food. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Altogether this is a really good value hotel with few pretensions but of solid value and service. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan Macduff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.