We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view with reasonable room size and good dining room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clan Macduff Hotel to your Saves list
Clan Macduff Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely view with reasonable room size and good dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this friendly hotel with another couple. We had a room with a balcony which was adequate. The bathroom was small but clean. The view was lovely from our room and the restaurant. The food was good with a wide choice. The area is excellent for touring.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    175
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
95
261
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancs, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked this hotel over the net, so was a little wary but, surprise, surprise, it far exceeded expectations. The room was clean and furnished to a good standard. The bathroom was spotless and of good quality. For breakfast there was an excellent choice and they served very good and reasonably priced evening meals. The staff were very welcoming and provided excellent service throuhout our stay

Room Tip: request a sea view, worth paying a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Location is far out of town, half hour walk to get into town or you must drive. Rooms were adequate but you can hear people from the rooms above and beside so it is not Quiet. Also there are much better priced places to stay. Tried to make a local call and was told the system was down. Asked for recommendations for places and desk clerk seemed not to know the area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff in the most friendly manner. Our room was spotlessly clean and fresh.The room had T.V. and Tea and Coffee making facilities and the shower in the bathroom was superb as the heat control was easily operated.I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Fort William.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in a party of 8 that came to walk the Lochaber Traverse, and The Clan MacDuff Hotel was truly wonderful. The hotel was patient with me as I finalised the group booking & very flexible in working to meet our needs (even as they changed). On arrival, we were made very welcome, and we liked our rooms. The Lochaber Traverse is a mighty walk; we were unsure when we would finish, and, again, The Clan MacDuff accommodated our uncertainty. In the end, several of us were marooned at the Ben Nevis Inn when our taxi got stuck in the traffic from the Mountain Bike World Cup, and Angus left his half-finished meal to come and collect us in the hotel Land Rover. At breakfast the next day we were greeted with "You must be hungry after your big walk. Order a Large Breakfast, and if that is not enough, just ask and we will bring you more." If Carlsberg did breakfasts ...

A tremendous visit to Fort William over a weekend with perfect weather. I loved The Clan MacDuff and will certainly try here first on my next visit. Many thanks to all, and especially Shona, Angus, Sarah & May.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Loch if you get the chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great nice and clean ample parking and fantastic view, the breakfast was nice though the haggis a bit bland but i like it spicy. the girls taking orders and serving were very nice and helpful. the front desk staff i found different they came access a bit stiff and made u feel more a problem than a guest. was ment to get a complimentary bottle of wine in each room which we never received, the free wifi doesn't work very well and when asked we just got told it works fine. beds are very soft so be cautious if u need a firm bed. and no plug at headboard. although we had issues its still a nice hotel in a fantastic location. we had booked 3 nights but checked out after 2 due to soft beds and no working wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed there on Friday night as we were in the area supporting the Caledonian hike. Staff very helpful letting us cool our blocks in their freezer for our cool boxes. Gave us packed breakfasts as we had to leave very early.
Bedroom beautiful albeit we were at the back and the view was on to the concrete support walls.
If we go would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan Macduff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.