We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clan Macduff Hotel to your Saves list
Clan Macduff Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ski Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great hotel close to both Glencoe and Nevis Range ski centres which was ideal for our ski weekend.

Very freindly welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, good food and value for money.

Beautiful views over Loch Linnhe and mountains.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    172
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
90
253
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oohsun
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is our second stay at the Clan Macduff. My wife and I stayed for two nights recently and could not fault a thing. Room spotless, comfy bed and food great value for money. Service from all the staff is top notch...... Many a so called 4 star posher hotels could learn from the Clan Macduff.

We will return again, thank you.

Room Tip: Corran ferry and explore further west, also Gondola trip up to the Pinemarten cafe bar and Snowgoose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay with our six year old grandson! We have stayed in some pretty good hotels in many countries and can honestly say for the price we paid for this hotel we cannot fault it! Yes it is "traditionally decorated" and yes it is definitely not your boutique type hotel but we absolutely loved our stay! The welcome was warm and friendly and our room, although not huge, was perfectly adequate for our stay. One thing I can say is I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel - the bathroom looked like it had just been installed and I wish I lived closer as I would definitely employ their cleaners to clean our house! The food was good and wholesome - the breakfast was absolutely first-class and the staff took time to chat to our grandson - making him feel very special - he loved being called sir! We paid a little extra to have the "loch view" and this was spectacular - especially first thing in the morning! We would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to tour the area!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the loch view - worth a little extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is situated on out skirts of Fort William. I would probably say a 10 to 15 min drive from the town centre. It has a great location in front of the loch and hills.

Upon arriving we were greeted by very friendly receptionist (a real credit to the hotel). She took us to our room and offered to take out bags.

Our room was in the build next to the main hotel. It was very clean, a good size and came with a table, chairs, flat screen TV, kettle (with tea and coffee) and a hair drier.

The bathroom room was a little on the small side if you are a rather large person.

The following morning we were greeted by another very friendly receptionist and very polite and helpful breakfast staff.

The breakfast had a good range of choices and tasted fine.

Good points
Friendly staff
Location
Clean well kept room

Not so good points
Size of bath room
Wi-fi did not seem to work (but that might have been our laptop)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Stayed at the premier inn for two nights before and found this hotel to give us more of a feeling of staying in Scotland. The breakfast in the morning was delicious with plenty of options to choose from. The staff were always friendly and able to offer advice on questions asked. Lovely views from the front of the hotel (worth paying the extra for a front facing room) unfortunately we didn't. Only downside would be the distance from fort William as it would take a while to walk, but only a few minuets in the car. Would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

No complaints at all for this hotel, made a last minute booking and despite some of the reviews on here had a great time. Yes its a little dated but that did not make any difference to our stay.

Myself, husband and 6 year old stayed for two nights and had a comfortable stay, great meals, hearty breakfasts and the staff were lovely too. Amazing view from the lounge/breakfast area.

Room Tip: Room 48 really great triple room plenty for the three of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

1. NEGATIVE: Wifi didnt work, they had some issues that were not fixed though i stayed one night
2. POSITIVE: Amazing view from th lounge bar and breakfast area, but make sure u get down to breakfast early, i got down at 8.30 and all window seats were taken which IMO are the best with the view of mountains and the loch
3. NEGATIVE: room 43 shower did not work properly, water either got top hot pr cold.
4.POSITIVE: perfect location
5.POSITIVE: rooms were clean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan Macduff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.