We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice in town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ossian's Hotel

Ossian's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ossian's Hotel to your Saves list
Ossian's Hotel
High Street, Fort William PH33 6DH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good budget choice in town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This hotel enjoys a good central location halfway along Fort William's dreary High Street, a ten-minute walk from rail and bus stations. Yes, it's a bit decrepit, but not unacceptably so, and it's VERY inexpensive. I stayed here for one night to break the long journey by ferry and bus from Tarbert (Harris) to Glasgow and it suited me just fine.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    9
    9
    13
See reviews for
10
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel in early September. Arrived by train and a five minute walk brought us to the hotel right on the High Street. Our room was on the third floor but there is a lift although we preferred to take the stairs. The room was clean, beds comfortable, beds made up and fresh towels supplied daily. There were breakfast items for sale but there was a Wetherspoons just down the street plus lots of pubs. We chose Wetherspoons for value plus they open early and we like to get an early start. The two ladies at reception were wonderful - so helpful. They made enquiries for us re a trip to Skye, called taxis, gave helpful advice and allowed us to leave our luggage for the day when we left. All with a smile and a pleasant manner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel, but it is absolutely great for what you pay for. Rooms are basic but fine, and all en-suite. The bar is cheap and staff were very chatty and welcoming.
Hotel is right on the high street and hosts karaoke/disco on weekends.
We stayed as our last stop on West Highland Way and probably would again if we were to do it again

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 3 nights when we came to climb Ben Nevis. After reading other Trip Advisor reviews I was a bit cautious of staying at this hotel. However I am pleased that I chose to ignore the other bad reviews. You get what you pay for and at £50 a night for a twin I didn't have high expectations. The room was a good size, clean and the bed were comfortable and towels were supplied and the beds were made daily. The hotel generally was clean,welcoming and couldn't fault the staff at all.

You can pay to have a continental breakfast at the hotel or you can just walk along the high street to Whether spoons which opens at 8am. There is a disco every Saturday night with free entry for guests. I was warned it would be quite loud as my room was over the bar however didn't find that to be an issue.

I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: On a Saturday maybe request not to have a room over the bar area but its not the end of the world if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located in the main street of Fort William. As they admit on the hotel website, there is nothing fancy about this place - the rooms are certainly small and basic - but it is relatively cheap. They warn you about noise from the disco at weekends but we weren't bothered in a front room on the top floor. The staff were quite variable, some friendly, others abrupt. There is only wifi in the communal lounge/bar area and this doesn't open in the morning until staff are on duty - a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for one night 27th June 2014, twin room en-suite for £50,friendly welcome by receptionist pleasantly surprised by excellent location right in centre of the high street, great views across the loch from rear rooms and to the main street to the front. No breakfast included but available from the restaurant at extra cost but a nice J.D. Wetherspoons pub just along the road does a very reasonably priced full Scottish breakfast ! Room had en-suite and tea/coffee making facilities, clean and comfortable but a little dated/tired looking. Bar is open late (3am at weekends) and situated on 1st floor(rooms on 3rd) if busy noise could be an issue for rooms directly above, but we had no problems. Staff happy to provide extra tea& coffee and jug of fresh milk when we ran out. Recommended for budget stay in central location.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear have the best views and may be quieter than those to the front overlooking the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calder, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you like rooms that are just bigger than a prison cell, tiny single beds that creak all night with the slightest movement etc then this is the place for you! We stayed here before starting the Great Glen Way, £50 for a basic twin with no breakfast was a wee bit expensive but it was clean and the staff were friendly enough

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ossian's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian's Hotel

Address: High Street, Fort William PH33 6DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Ossian's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossians Hotel Fort William
Ossian's Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ossian's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.