We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's getting there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cruachan Hotel to your Saves list
Cruachan Hotel
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's getting there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's clear that this is a hotel in transition. Some things have been successfully fixed (e.g. the reception, bar and dining areas have been tarted up successfully, and are lovely comfy places now). Our room was also relatively recently refurbished. We were in the annexe at the back, so no loch view, but private and shielded from the road. Bed and room very comfortable, bathroom was merely adequate - the water pressure was on the low side, I had to fix the dribbling toilet myself, and it took about 3-4 mins to get any hot water from the hot tap. According to my partner, washing long hair was apparently quite an ordeal.

Breakfast was pretty good, although a couple more options and/or permutations of the same things would have been nice (no hash browns with the full Scottish??? what the...). Also some Scottish smoked fish maybe?

Harder to fix in future are: (a) the lack of a lift, (b) the plumbing, and (c) the paper-thin walls that allow plenty of sound mingling between rooms. If you like listening to other people, you'll love it.

All in all tho, this is a pretty decent hotel which is genuinely trying to improve things. And you can't fault the location (virtually at the end of the high street), so this is definitely an option worth exploring!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    71
    71
    28
    33
See reviews for
37
94
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel was ok. Good location not far from the city centre. My room was a room with 2 single bed. I was in a room in a standard hotel block behind the more characterful original building. The room is a bit small and it was clean but a little tired. Have to say the bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have to sleep on. Beside that it was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was in a room in a standard hotel block behind the more characterful original building. The room and bathroom were large and clean but a little tired. The walls were absolutely paper thin and you could hear every word, cough and snore from the room next door and the floors must be thin as well as it sounded like people in the room above were going to come through the ceiling whenever they walked around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our room was huge. Unfortunately we had no view to speak of and the back external staircase ran right under our windows, which tended to give us a start whenever anyone went up or down the staircase. I think the room must have been recently refurbished, but the bathroom hadn't been finished off completely. There was some sealing still to be done around the ceiling/wall joins etc. We were there with a coach load of other couples and, unfortunately, even though our coach driver had rang to forewarn the hotel of the time of our arrival we still had to wait for an hour for our dinner. No one bothered to explain why or apologise for the long delay. The meal was to a good standard, but each course took quite some time to appear. The staff were friendly but most of them seemed to have little understanding of English, which made ordering your choice of meal slightly disconcerting. The scenery out front of the hotel was beautiful and of course there is Ben Nevis. However, Fort William itself is a VERY small place. Overall the hotel was acceptable, but not exceptional.

Room Tip: Room 108 is more of a family room - if you ignore the external staircase immediately outside the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely frontage on the banks of the loch lured us to book. We were on a three-day weekend trip to climb Ben Nevis, and this hotel is situated perfectly for this. It's a 7 minute drive to Glen Nevis visitor centre and the start of Ben Nevis!

The reception & bar have been refurbed to a high standard and are very warm and welcoming from the chilly highland air! Staff seem a bit on the scearse side but very friendly.

The rooms are very basic but comfortable & were cleaned extremely well and clean bedding (although the duvets were a tad small width ways). Very quiet room, the odd noise from neighnouring rooms but find me a full hotel that is silent! Beds were comfy enough and warm but the mattresses could do with replacing soon. Bathroom basic but the shower was beautifully hot and well-pressured! PLEASE update the back rooms!!!

Great location as only a 5 min walk to Fort William town centre, we ate in town so can't comment on the food apart from breakfast which was lovely. Hot and filling with freshly made (hot) toast.

To summarise, this is a lovely basic hotel that has obviously got great ambitions. If they refurb the rooms the same as the reception & bar I'm sure this will be the most popular in Fort William. Remember it's only a 3* hotel so don't expect the Savoy, but enjoy it for what it offers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Cruachan facilitated the stay of 13 people for a weekend of climbing brilliantly. They prepared packed lunches and were on hand to answer any questions and deal with any issues superbly. Breakfast was of a high quality and the quantity was such that it prepared the group perfectly for an ascent of Ben Nevis. The rooms were simple, comfortable, clean and functional. A couple of the group had issues with their showers, the beds are a bit on the small side and a some interior modernisation would not go a miss! However the location on the loch is superb, proximity to Fort William ideal and the bar offers a fantastic place to unwind following a tiring day. The Cruachan is a bit on the expensive side but you do leave feeling you have attained value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of Loch Linnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Passing by the amazing view saw this hotel, thought of refreshing ourself. Went inside in the bar and courteosly greated by the barman, suggested few drinks went for his special cocktail. Was prfectly made to our liking.
Full complement to Rishi. On top of it was served with nicely presented prawns on top of mushrooms.
Will be back again n highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruachan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.