We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID ROOM 100 AND THE BREAKFAST” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cruachan Hotel to your Saves list
Cruachan Hotel
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
BELFAST, N. IRELAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AVOID ROOM 100 AND THE BREAKFAST”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arrival we were given a room with a four poster bed as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. Room 100 is a family room - large with a lovely view with this imposing 4 poster bed. However this bed was the noisiest and most uncomfortable bed I have ever not slept in. It has a thin mattress on a slated base - which creaked and cracked on the slighest movement! Just the worst night sleep ever. The room had two single beds in the corner and we ended up sleeping in these beds on the second night - some 40th anniversary! Large bathroom but with plastic glasses - more hostel than hotel!
Worse was still to come in the morning with the breakfast. 2 types of cereal in open bowls (the cornflake bowl had been tipped all over the floor and left!). Large industrial orange juice dispenser - tasteless weak orange juice left an after-taste! Tea and coffee was dispensed by the waiting staff - coffee was freezing and weak. Cooked breakfast arrived. Bacon cold and fatty, sausage burnt. Fried egg broken and hard. Toast was barely toasted bread. Only nice thing on the plate was the mushroom and half tomato! The breakfast was so bad we left the next day without eating it - breakfast is only served until 9.30am which I think is very very early.
We had one evening meal in the bar - after waiting for 35 mintues for service. I got fish and chips - both the frozen variety, greasy and nasty. My husband had the venison sausages - very hard and tough - clearly overcooked!.

Room Tip: Avoid room 100 and that awful bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    85
    31
    37
See reviews for
44
109
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coloma, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed one night, party of 4. I had booked a double for my husband and myself, and a twin for family members. We ended up with two twins. Not ideal, but we just pushed the beds together.

When they ask at reception if you'd like help carrying your luggage to your room...say yes! I usually don't bother, but it was much more of a hike than I expected, with lots of stairs and no lifts, since the property seems to be made up of several different buildings/extensions. If you're travelling with anyone who's elderly or who has limited mobility, I would recommend phoning and asking for a more accessible room.

Breakfast was included with our rooms, and was good. Nothing fancy, and no black pudding (thank God! but some might be disappointed), but satisfying, and the service was good. We didn't have dinner there, but did go down for a late drink, and the bar area was also nice.

Overall, and particularly given the bargain price, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is well situated, just beyond the Main Street, and (if you are lucky!) with views overlooking the loch. Bedroom clean, although the bathroom was a bit tired - flaking and chipped paint, but not serious. The loo was very close to the wall, and rather uncomfortable! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts good - waitress, not buffet service. Sadly no porridge on three of my four mornings (in Scotland!), although the manager apologised when I pointed this out at checkout, and said he had only just been made aware of it. An electrical (and heating) fault one evening was quickly put right.

Room Tip: Get a room with a loch view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a room with river view which was great.

The room is spacious. Heating works well. Room is clean. There is no bar fridge though. But tea/coffee facilities available in the room.

Breakfast which was included with our room was good- u get a choice of cooked or continental breakfast.

The hotel reception and bar area is very grand.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk into town which is not a problem. They have lots of parking spaces for guests.

All in all, we're happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Only acceptable if you cannot find anything else, and you have to stay in Fort William (e.g. to ascend Ben Nevis). We had to pay on arrival (!), room was dark with no view (wall about two meters from window), smelly (obviously due to humidity). Walls were paper-thin (we couldn't sleep due to guy snoring in next room), equipment very basic, staff (at breakfast) unfriendly, breakfast horrible. Extremely overpriced for what it offers, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel looks lovely on arrival, front of house has been recently renovated to a very high standard, bar, restaurant, reception area, and the Manager could not have been nicer. I ate in the hotel that night, the food was ok, not brilliant, but not bad, but quite expensive. My only gripe was my room - 129 a single room in the annexe block at the back of the hotel, the room itself was ok especially for the money I paid, as in decor, functionality etc, but it was the fact you could hear the tv in next door, or even upstairs room, you could hear people walking in the room above - every footstep, and even hear their conversations, this is not good when you have been trying to get to sleep for the past hour!!!! I did speak to the receptionist on my check out, who was appologetic, and did explain that the management do realise that the annexe does have this promblem, and they will be addressing the soundproofing over the winter period. Otherwise a really good value hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights & were quite happy with this hotel. The bedroom was clean but functional - ok for us as we were not spending a lot of time there. The breakfast was very good, cooked freshly & the service efficient. The location of this hotel is wonderful, great views of the loch from front of hotel & less than 10 minutes from the town.

Room Tip: A room to the front of the hotel would have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruachan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.