We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star prices in three star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cruachan Hotel to your Saves list
Cruachan Hotel
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow,Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Five star prices in three star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived on Saturday 7th July and were given a dark and dingy room with a view of a rough cast wall barely 2 metres away, bathroom had a smell of dampness in it, I called reception and they moved us , while we were changing room I asked the reception guy if the hotel was busy he said" all the GOOD rooms were full?????? . Later my wife
and I went to bar for drink , I also bought a bag of crisps and was charged 90p for them,90p for a standard bag of crisps is a total rip off .
To summarise this hotel is way above its station, so beware of the 5 star prices in this barely 3 star accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    85
    31
    37
See reviews for
44
109
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed in the Cruachan about 2 yrs ago and loved it. We got a lovely room with loch view, 4 poster bed and a lovely breakfast for £75. The price is now £105 pn, which I do not think is worth it. The hotel has been revamped, looks lovely but they have taken away the Scottishness of it. All modern, with no Scottish features, which includes the staff, well we did hear one Scottish accent, but most of the staff were of Asian or East European. Our room was clean the bed was comfortable, TV too small, but had all channels. Wardrobe is open plan, no doors, but a bit on the small side Our view was of a back wall. The hotel was quiet, but the floors are not, very squeaky floorboards, and the people above us sounded like they were wearing hobnailed boots as they moved around, bit annoying. Staff were friendly, albeit they could not get our drinks order correct, that would be due to the language barrier, us being Scottish. They really need to get a more Scottish feel about the place, and maybe hire more locals. I know Americans, Italians etc are here to see Scotland and would prefer the Scottish theme. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is without a doubt, one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I wish I had taken heed of the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking, as I thought "surely it can't be that bad?"
There are only 2 mildly positive attributes this hotel has; it looks nice from the outside overlooking the loch and hills, and some of the staff to be fair are helpful and professional.

For the price I was paying for a single room for one night, I expected a good or at least partial view out of the window. What I actually got was a wall at the rear of the hotel. The room was small, and the bed even smaller. Mattress was hard, pillows may as well have been non-existent (even two together were completely unsupportive), so really very uncomfortable. The bathroom had a stale mouldy smell, and there were a few dead flies in the shower - I got the feeling it had not been cleaned properly at all. The floors were terribly squeaky, I could hear EVERY SINGLE noise from the surrounding rooms, from toilets flushing and people talking, to what sounded like a late night orgy in the room above! I did not get a wink of sleep!

In the morning I was hoping that the breakfast might make up for the rubbish night before, but how wrong I was. Breakfast is run with military precision, seems like they want you in and out as soon as possible. I know it's a hotel and there are lots of people to feed, but they don't even give you so much as a how'd you do or good morning. There were only 2 choices of cereal - some sorry looking corn flakes, or something that resembled muesli. I skipped cereal, and grabbed a yogurt. Not sure how long it had been out on the serving table for; but it was certainly not chilled. Toast came to the table massacred, 5 slices out of the 6 they brought were completely inedible. The cooked breakfast was just as bad. Bacon (and I use the term loosely) was a wide strip of undercooked fat with a slither of undercooked meat, the fried egg (they did not bother to ask how I wanted my egg) was swimming in what I hope was water, with a hard yoke, all made for a very disappointing start to the day.

I would advise anyone coming up to Fort William not to stay at the Cruachan, it is just not worth it. Thankful I only stayed for one night, and have learnt my lesson!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Wonderfully refurbished hotel but the fact that it is a listed building a lift is rather a problem but they are working on it .
Meals are good in restaurant but we like a teapot or a coffee pot and then you don't need to take staff away from other duties.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front in the old part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on a tour ( this being our most expensive hotel) and the worst by far.To be fair it has good parking , has been well decorated and was clean and tidy with an excellent view from our hotel room. The many problems were as follows, poor sound proofing with the rooms , a couple bonking on one side and someone trying to run a bath on the other. The bath/ shower was hopeless, no pressure so you could not use the shower and to run a not very hot bath took 20 mins for about a half full one. We complained about it , was told it was fixed but it had not been. The breakfast menu gave a list of cereals ( as you would expect ) ie Weetabix, Rice crispies etc, in fact all there was were very cheap cornflakes and muesli. My wife ordered poached eggs and was asked how she wanted them ( soft she replied) when they came they were like rubber, with very cheap sausages. She complained to the duty manager who said he would sort it . He did, he produced a new menu next day with all the items not there the previous day taken off ( take way the problem totally, i must remember that). The room price was £104 which was totally over the top for what we recieved , because of our complaints we did recieve a discount. There is Travelodge being built in Fort william at the moment, this Hotel had better get its act together or it will struggle shortly

Room Tip: Very hard work if you are in any way infirm as there are many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in June. The outside of the hotel is impressive. The hotel entrance, bar area and dining room are tastefully furnished and decorated. The views from the terraced garden were beautiful. The breakfast was average served by very pleasant staff. Coffee and tea pots were not available on the tables, second cups were offered or had to be asked for. Not sure I liked that. Our room was very small for the price we paid, however we did book late and there was little availability. I believe we had a reduced rate for late booking, which I still consider was overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front to take advantage of the view. Ours was at the back, a meandering jo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I don't usually pay much more than £70 a night but the Cruachan sounded nice so decided to treat ourselves. For £104 we got a tiny box of a room with paper thin walls, a floor that creaked when you walked across it and a small window with frosted glass - because it looked out onto the wall of the block in front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruachan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.