We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put off before we ate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Roast Company

Hot Roast Company
127 High Street, Fort William, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 61 Restaurants in Fort William
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Put off before we ate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped by here last week, excited to have a roast meat roll. However, we couldn't bring ourselves to stay in the queue after the lady behind the counter was so rude to an older lady who was trying to order. The customer was a little confused by the different menus (there's a take-away and sit-in menu behind the counter) and the serving staff had no patience for her confusion whatsoever, providing her with curt answers and clearly looking annoyed. It was such an appalling sight that we decided against giving them our trade. The two menus are confusing and need to be addressed, as do the staff's manners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your last visit. Firstly we have a takeaway menu behind the counter and the sit in menu's would be given to you at the table when you were seated. So i am unsure why there would be any confusion. I can assure you that my current staff have wonderful customer service and would never speak to a customer in the way you described. If a complaint had been made at the time it could have been dealt with but unfortunately it wasnt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
My house
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Was once very good....not so much now”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got a sandwich here a few times shortly after it opened and was happy - simple, good quality food served well - even said so on trip advisor. Stopped there yesterday, what a huge disappointed! Menu listed same 4 or 5 hot roasts as before but only one actually available, sandwich consisted of a few mean slivers of roast on a distinctly second rate brown bap with some salad (no dressing available) that had been prepared 'sometime' earlier. Poor food, poor choice, poor quality shame as it used to be a jewel on the Fort William high street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi, we are sorry you feel disappointed with your latest visit, i would like to say we have never used brown rolls, also there is always salad dressing available. All our food is cooked/prepared fresh every day. Due to the time each roast takes to cook we cannot guarantee that all meats will be available all day, so if we have a busier day than normal we do sometimes sell out of some of the roasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As a takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have used this place as a takeaway. Great food great service. Only downside is the price difference when sitting in. Will use again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for the review. There is a difference in price for sitting in and taking away. The reason for this is the sit in comes with side salad and is table service, also it takes longer to prepare than a takeaway. When i took over the company i put the prices down and they have not been changed since then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We visit Fort William at least once a year and always drop in here whilst in town.
You wont find anything fancy here but what you will get is a delicious homestyle roast carved onto a roll with accompaniments.
A few tables to sit in but with so many nice views just roynd the corner, het your roll to go and enjoy it.
Simple but delicious and really pleasant staff too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comment. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Hand-carved roasts ... on a sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Dropped in for a coffee and ended up having lunch. Couldn't resist the sandwiches mades from hand-carved turkey, ham, roast beef, etc. The sandwiches were not fancy at all, but they were very tasty and filling. I had the roast ham with spicy mustard and family member had the roast beef with horse-radish, even commenting that it reminded him of how "nanna makes it". Followed with a sweet, and we were on our way ... satisfied.
Most people do take-away, but there are a few tables inside as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Roast Company also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Hot Roast Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Roast Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.