We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay with wonderful hospitality and stunning views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cuilcheanna House to your Saves list
Cuilcheanna House
Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay with wonderful hospitality and stunning views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and we couldn't have chosen a better place. Driving down the little lane to the house, with the loch right in front of us, immediately put us in the relaxed holiday mode we were looking for. It was so peaceful. We were met at the gate by Charlie the Springer Spaniel, followed closely behind by our hosts. We instantly felt like we were meeting up with old friends and this warm feeling remained throughout our stay.
The room we stayed in was big, light and well presented. It overlooked the garden and the loch and we could have quite easily stayed there looking at the view for the whole weekend! However, we did venture out and went on some beautiful walks, taking in the hills and well as the beach and loch.
As others have commented, the breakfasts are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. They certainly set you up nicely for the days walking ahead.
We are already planning to go back and visit Kirstie and Mum again soon, as our time there was just not long enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Great accomodation, great food, great location, great hosts, great walking, great wildlife and great views.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed at this wonderful B&B when i went for a few days skiing over New Year. It is within easy reach of both Glencoe Ski Centre and Nevis Range Ski Centre (about 20 minutes). I guess this location would also suit the keen walkers and climbers of Ben Nevis.
The view from the house is just stunning, of which i don't think i could tire. On good visibility days, you can see all the way down the Loch to Mull. The house itself must be steeped in history. As soon as you enter, you get a feeling of warmth and cosiness. Sitting in front of the real fire in the residents' lounge is a must. My bedroom was beautifully presented and very clean.
Kirstie and Mary are the ultimate hosts. Kirstie will offer advice on where to go and things to do, without being at all pushy. Mary produced the finest cooked breakfast i have ever had, including haggis!
Overall, a great place to stay and i wouldn't hesitate in going back...Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Cuilcheanna House for two weeks.
Kirstie and her mother really love what they do and this made us feel really welcome.

As this was our first time in Scotland, Kirstie had great tips and folders for us and even helped out by making some calls for us. She went out of her way to help guests where possible.

The rooms were nice, good size, nice bathroom and decent size bath and proper cosy beds!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden grove
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Kirstie was great and helpful. Watch out though, she has the English humor. I was expecting the sweet lovely B&B owner, but the sarcasm and wit caught me off guard! After I switched to that mode, we had a great time talking about dogs and stuff. The rooms are large and cozy and the views were amazing. Just a little distance off from Fort William though. I wanted to stay between Ballachulish/Glencoe and Fort William just in case I needed to visit both, but really there is nothing worth seeing in Glencoe except driving through it. If you need more city life, stay IN Fort William. Dont forget... the VIEWS. Loved them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Its a ordinary hotel with a just wonderful view(we got the seaview, opposit the view is a caravanpark) and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

You will not be disappointed with this B&B. Sitting on the shores of Loch Linnhe the view is stunning, this is accompanied by a warm welcome, well equipped clean rooms with recently refurbished bathrooms, and an excellent breakfast. A drinks menu is also available in the lounge in the evening serving wines, bottled beers, & spirits including a range of whiskey.

The location is ideal if you are planning to climb Ben Nevis, but also a great base for exploring the high lands. Fort Williams town centre is just 20 minutes by car where you will find a number of good places to eat. Also here is where you can catch the train (steam if you like) to Mallaig, a train journey amongst the best in the world. You can also do this journey by car along the breathtaking 'road to the isles'.

There are loads of places nearby to explore and enjoy and if you are travelling north (As i expect most will be) you will likely drive through Glencoe, a perfect way to start to unwind your mind as you start your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuilcheanna House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.