We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bank Street Lodge to your Saves list
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Expensive and a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a double room (actually a triple so we had a bit of extra space) for £55 a night. This was similar to what we had paid for much nicer B&Bs so we felt that it was a bit overpriced. The beds are quite old and squeaky and the rooms could do with a lick of paint. However the staff were friendly and the location was good. A good base if you plan to spend little time in your room other than sleeping. The bathroom was ok but again probably needed a refurb. Next time I would opt for a B&B instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    37
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
24
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place was solid. We got what we expected and that's all we needed. The room was clean and we were comfortable. No complaints. This is a good place for budget-minded folks and as long as you keep that in mind, it's a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at beginning of month. Got this hotel as cheapest one available off search website as I just wanted a room at cheap price. OK, certainly not a top hotel but always good to find somewhere that exceeds your expectations. For what I paid for single room (which was double at single rate) at £35, the quality of room and friendliness of staff made me expect higher price.

Good location for everything so would happily recommend it as good budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlaar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and it is a exellent hotel to plan you're trips trough Scotland. Friendly staff and the rooms are clean and you have everything you need. If you wish you can make you're own breakfast in the kitchen or go to the pub in the highstreet who is nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located in the centre of town so pretty handy. Bags were being transported by a company for the west highland way but there was nowhere to put them other than the bottom of the stairs which isn't very secure. The décor is dated and the shower door was broken. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cheap, cheerfull and handy for town. The kitchen is pretty small and the dinning area lounge is not somewhere you'd spend a lot of time. On the first night all the tables were in use so nowhere to sit down and look at the maps/books. It felt fairly tired compared to some of the hostels i've stated at in the last few years. Showers were decent and the drying room was much appreciated. The small but handy car park was a real bonus. Good for backpackers but not one for a weekend away with my other half. She's not a hill walker!

Room Tip: A fair bit of noise through the floors so i suspect the upstairs rooms are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hostel is near the rail station and main street (Tesco express, banks, shops, tourist info centre). The room was too spacy but clean. There is no lockers in the room.
The restroom in ground floor has 2 showers booths without door (only curtain) and one toilet. Another restroom is bigger and combine toilet and shower in one room ( the room no.10&11 area), which are great for disable.
The kitchen and TV room is good. The free wifi is available in the tv room and kitchen. There are many information about activities, tours, train/bus time, weather forecast in the tv room.

Room Tip: room no.8 (female room) is ok, but the opposite room is for male sometimes a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Street Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.