We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, take Ear Plugs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bank Street Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Noisy, take Ear Plugs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were unfortunate enough to get the room (4-bed female dorm) next to the bath room and our room was subject to high pitched screeching through the night plus hearing the door bang everytime someone went in. So do take ear plugs if you go, as two of the three of us didn't get a wink of sleep (although the beds were comfy enough).

Other than that, the showers were the best I had encountered throughout doing the West Highland Way (hot and powerful!), although they are somewhat communal. The people were very nice and the location is excellent. I didn't really make use of the kitchen facilities, and the TV room was nice enough. For fifteen pounds per bed it really was a bargain, plus they have a drying room which is always handy.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs, especially as there are a lot of earlier risers who are stomping up and down the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
10
21
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Remember folks - when all is said and done, this is a hostel. Since it's not part of the globally recognized international hostel association (http://www.hihostels.com/web/about.en.htm), it could have slacked off and been a bad experience... BUT it wasn't!

My friend and I took a three-bed room and simply booked the third bed so as to have the entire room to ourselves. Massive space to move around you do not get, but tidyness, quiet, clean sheets, and only a semi-shared bathroom you do.

It's along an inclined road, so if you are carrying some substantial luggage, do keep this in mind! Or best to be on good terms with your stronger travel buddies :-)

In the end, only three stars/dots since it's a hostel after all, but if I were to rank Bank Street Lodge against other hostels, I'd give it four and half stars. Overall a solid enough experience for what it was.

Room Tip: In August 2011, each bed was 15 quid and so my friend and I booked all three beds in a 3-bed room, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here for one night whilst walking in Scotland.
Clean, tidy and good value for money.
If you stay, make sure to visit the cafe next door for breakfast, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: I booked a single room and got a twin for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in a private room with a double bed, ensuite bathroom, and television in this hostel. They offered free shampoo too, which is rare for a hostel. Overall it was clean and the staff were friendly. The room was also a good size. The only bad points are that the light in the bathroom had dead bugs in it (sounds gross, I know, but the rest of the room was VERY clean) and they don't offer luggage storage. The luggage storage can be solved by using the train station luggage facilities... decent price, huge storage lockers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base to climb Ben Nevis. Great location - just a few minutes walk from the train station and town so very convenient if you don't have a car. Also handy if you are travelling with teenagers as they could go to the park/shops on their own.
The staff in the hostel were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation, as you would expect, was fairly basic but fine for what we needed. We had 2 small bunk style dorms with shared facilities - and a couple more toilets/showers would not have gone amiss. The kitchen and dining room areas are small but adequate. The only thing that was missing was a proper TV lounge, with comfy sofas, to ease our sore legs after climbing 'the Ben'. And it was a bit noisy, with lots of backpackers up and out early for walking, and lots of other backpackers coming back late from the pub!
But excellent value for £15 a night.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 11 are quieter as away from the main body of room, and they share one toilet/shower dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I think the other reviews sum it up, central, convenient, clean, inexpensive and with amazingly helpful staff. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A bit chaotic at check in, lacks parking but the room was comfortable despite the garish 1980's pastel colour matching curtains and duvet. Very basic room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Street Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.