We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The West End Hotel to your Saves list
The West End Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place is a bit old fashioned, but everything was a pleasant stay. The service was good. The food in the restaurant was very good. The included breakfast was good (but could be a tad healthier!). It is an old hotel so it doesn't have the sound proofing you would get at modern hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
59
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our second or third visit to West -End. the previous visit were excellent.
On this occassion we had a small problem, which was sorted quickly and professionally by the staff on duty. We would like to thank them very sincerely for there efforts.
Rooms always clean and well equiped.
Food in bar good menu well prepared.
Breakfasts first rate.
Staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Front rooms have views of Loch Linne
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for a business stopover. The hotel belongs in the 60's. Rooms are shabby, and in need of upgrading. Small portable TV in the room with three channels is unacceptable for a supposed 3* hotel. I was put off breakfast by the nicotine stained ceiling tiles in the dining room. I would not recommend staying here as there are plenty decent B&b's in Fort William.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a fiasco of a stay at a BnB my husband and I went looking for a place to stay and were lucky to have found this hotel. It was a medium sized hotel.The location was excellent as it was located opposite the Loch, but still centrally located next to the town centre.

The rooms were comfortable with adequate heating to suit the temperatures outside. The bathroom was decent sized, but the tiled floor was slippery.

The main doors of the hotel close earlier, so if you come later you can ring the bell for the porter to let you in.

The staff was very polite and friendly without any of the usual robotic perfunctory words, quite hospitable in a Scottish kind of way. It was quite refreshing to be genuinely welcomed. The staff were also providing information about tourist places to visit.

The food was very nice, and the chef made any modifications that I wanted. The restaurant and bar was crowded with hotel guests as well as the locals, showing the popularity of the place. We will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickfergus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have been coming to Fort William for 10 years or so and have found this hotel to be everything we could ask for. Good food and drink , nice clean comfy room and friendly staff in fact from the reception to bar staff to waiting staff cant have one single complaint. stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. I find it nice to see so many familiar faces every time we come back and looking forward to next year already. Thanks guys

Room Tip: Have stayed in various rooms over the years and have no complaints about any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed Sept 2013 found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was a triple it was clean well equiped with 3 single beds and a good supply of tea and coffee the bed was very comfy as was the room on the whole. Had a meal in the bar which was well cooked and well presented and keenly priced. Goodnights sleep and to wake up and look out upon the beautiful Loch Linnhe. This was a last minute decision and I was not sorry would definetely stay again well worth it.

Room Tip: Loch facing room, car park at hotel or just across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A glass and concrete temple the West End is not! But this family owned hotel exudes warmth and friendliness in abundance and provides from the front rooms beautiful views of the loch. The food is excellent and the helpings more than adequate. The staff most of whom I understand have been there for many years - always a good indication of a happy establishment - are delightful and ready to help with all manner of advice. Yes, perhaps the decor is a little bit outdated in parts - though I notice a programme of refurbishment has been ongoing in the less busy times - but the hotel is spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is such that the decor becomes insignificant. As in so many ways looks are only skin deep. The staff always have smile on their faces and the service in the bar and dining room is good. When in Fort William I would never think of staying in a hotel other than the West End.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking Loch Linnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.