We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The West End Hotel to your Saves list
The West End Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Canvey Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Fort William for three nights, but not at the West End Hotel. We simply found this as a good place to eat at night. We thought that the food was very good and the service was prompt and efficient. Most importantly the food was served hot and the portions were large.
The staff were friendly and attentive and we would return again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
56
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location near the centre of Fort William. The room was a little dated and coiuld do with refurbishment but it was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. The lady in charge of the dining room was very capable and a real people person.
At night we were too tired to go out so ate in the hotel. It was great value for money with pplenty of choice. Our group enjoyed everything we ordered with no complaints. The overall experience was good and it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the loch for fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After an unfortunate start to our visit to Fort William, when we discovered that our guest house room was not really satisfactory for two people, we faced a quandary.In the event, we decided to stay in separate places, with my friend staying in the other guest house, while I was fortunate enough to stay at the West End Hotel. The room was quite large,,with two chairs and a wardrobe and comfy beds(there was a stain on the sheets but I had another bed to sleep in). The only fly in the ointment was the noise: thin walls meant I could hear lots of doors banging, assorted bangs and thuds and conversation from across the corridor!This, however, is a common enough problem in many hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westend Hotel, Fort William and it was a pleasure.

At the end of the day, the decor was traditional, the room was clean and my stay was throughly enjoyable.

There was a slight problem in that my shower wasn't producing hot water, but this was no problem for the hotel staff, They simply produced a key to an overflow bathroom which I kept until check out time.

No matter what my request, the answer was always the same, "Och, nee bother...".

Special dietary requests were catered for and everyone was friendly and helpful.

If, (like me), you are a walking problem area and you need friendly and helpful staff, don't hesitate to book here for a relaxing and recharging stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Room was reasonably priced and clean. Food not amazing but by no means awful. Service was fantastic - the staff were friendly and accommodating and couldn't have done more to help. Nothing was too much trouble. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here in a group of approx 12 for 1 night before embarking on the 3 Peaks Challenge. The service was outstanding, they really could not have done enough for us and were so helpful with allowing us to park minibuses and providing hot water while the hikers were hiking. True the decor is dated and looking a little tired but the location is great, the breakfast wasn't a buffet and the meals were reasonably priced and generous portions. Overall a good hotel experience made very good by the friendly welcoming staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A very warm welcome when we were looking for a room last minute. They only had one left for a higher price than what we had foreseen and the receptionist proposed right away that we take a look at the room and only take it if we like it, which was a very nice gesture.
I normally wouldn't pay 100 GBP for a double room with such a...khm, how to put it nicely...outdated design, and furnished with a particularly bad taste, but I have to admit that everything was neat and clean and perfectly functional.
We had a not outstanding but good breakfast and in general a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Not recommended if you are sensitive to cheesy decoration, otherwise nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: We had the room above the entrance with full view through huge windows over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.