We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach party traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The West End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The West End Hotel to your Saves list
The West End Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coach party traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our coach party was efficiently and quickly checked in. There was an offer of help with luggage for anyone in need. There is a side entrance from the car park which does not involve any steps, and a lift to all floors. This is a family run hotel not a standardised hotel chain, therefore the decor and rooms were more homely. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. We were not affected by any excessive noise from other guests. There was noise from passing traffic during the day but not at night. This was offset by the fact that the hotel was very conveniently sited at the edge of town. Food was plentiful and even though we were a coach party there was a choice of breakfast and evening meal, including Mallaig kippers which were scrummy, and a four course evening meal. Staff are happy to give you small portions or omit any items that you don't like. Service at meal times is quick but not rushed. We found all staff to be very friendly and professional and would like to thank them very much for a lovely 4 nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
56
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and myself returned home earlier this week after spending five days at the West End Hotel, Fort William. We had a moderately sized absolutely clean room - we had half-board and the breakfasts and dinners were wonderful - so much food! All the staff were so friendly and obviously enjoyed the work and couldn't do enough for us.
The only downside is the fact that there is no porterage and there are fifteen stone steps to climb before entering the Hotel. If guests have any problem carrying their cases there are staff to help if you tell them at Reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ate at this hotel the other night with some friends, very welcoming staff and excellent service at bar and tables.\My choice of chicken stuffed with broccoli was not a good one as this was tasteless but my friends were all happy with their choice. Was disappointed with white pepper mill ..think black pepper mill should also be available . Saying that I would recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the West End Hotel due to there being no other rooms available at any other hotel, we were pleasantly surprised as we checked the male receptionist apologised for their not being any double rooms left and gave us a key to check out a room he recommended before we booked! The room was spacious with a double bed and a single overlooking the Loch, and this and breakfast came to £70 which was worth the money.

We were too late for dinner but the receptionist did give us advice on where to eat and he was lovely, customer service was 10/10.

I had read reviews on this hotel before and complaints of other guests slamming doors is very true, breakfast is from half 7 in the morning and we were abruptly awoken by the slamming of doors everywhere, however there were sings in the lobby reminding guests to be careful of slamming doors and to respect other guests, which shows the hotel is trying to do something about the problem.

The faults we could see with the hotel are;

Very small bathroom, especially for a family room
Bathroom was dirty - ginger pubic hair in basin!
Towels were frayed and multi coloured
Bed Spreads are very old fashioned


Strengths of the hotel:

Excellent customer service
comfortable beds
Excellent Views
Good parking
Great prices

Good hotel if you are just travelling through for the night,but I wouldn't recommend if you are are fussy or enjoy modern hotels. The bathroom really let this hotel down, there is no excuse for hairs or dirt in a hotel bathroom that should be cleaned daily.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the Loch are definitely the best options as rooms at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just happened to arrive in Fort William late afternoon while heading north. Saw the hotel and thort would see if had any rooms as had had enough driving for the day. They had 1 room left, which was resonably priced as well. 2nd floor looking out over the loch. Recently renovated I think as well. Very clean and spacious and warm after a dismal day driving in the rain. Very warm, accomodating friendly place. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. Resaraunt and bar were very cosy. We checked next morning if any chance of a vacancy so we could stay another night as found plenty to do in the area. The room we had been in had been booked but they managed to get us in on the first floor as it became vacant. Smaller older room but still comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. The only problem onthe second night was other guests letting their doors slam shut with no thought for others. The hotel was full and this was other guests Not the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled with our two toddlers to Ft William from Glasgow without reservations and stayed here. The staff in the dining room were very understanding when my daughter threw up at the table during dinner. Being embarrased I took her up to our room immediately, and my husband and son ate together. We met a woman there from Wales who spoke Gaelic. Unfortunately, as it was November, the crafts shop across the street was closed. All in all, the location and the view was great, room was clean and average, and the people friendly. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visited Easter weekend with my partner. Overall very nice place . Room was basic but very clean. Our room was at the front on the main road & very noisy with the traffic. On the Saturday night we went down to the bar to order food. However we was unable to do this as the place was full. Not with guest. It was open to the public. We ended up going out for an Indian meal

Room Tip: Request a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.