We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dismal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The West End Hotel

Save Saved
You added The West End Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The West End Hotel
Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Dismal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

My friend and I had single rooms at the back of the hotel. Both rooms smelt of damp, smoking what may have been dog although the rooms looked reasonably clean. Fortunately I was able to open a window, but my friend was not so lucky her window was stuck. The receptionist said she would get someone to fix it but it never happened. This was at the start of the tourist season. I'm Scottish and I am embarrassed to think foreign visitors would get such rooms

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
16
48
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I can concur with previous reviewers - this hotel is in urgent need of a re-fit as its decor is terribly dated. My main beef however was with the food. I ordered porridge for breakfast and was presented with the most vile, gloopy garbage I have ever tasted. I mean, how can you screw up porridge? I didn't complain about it but I just couldn't eat it...the waitress asked me why I wasn't eating it and I told her I just didn't like it - she then told me there was nothing wrong with it and if I didn't like it it was tough. I could have understood her behaviour if I had made a complaint & was being difficult but I never said a word. Unbelievably rude and dis-courteous staff. Crap service & crap food...avoid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

this was our third stay at this hotel and cannot fault it in any way. the staff are always very friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you. the view was excellent overlooking the loch from our room. the food was great and there was also a good selection to pick from. as we both have busy worklives, we both found this a very relaxing hotel and already thinking of going back again soon. highly recommend this hotel if you're looking of getting away from it all for a quiet weekend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have been going to the west end for the passed ten years at least once or twice a year and find that the staff are very friendly the food is good the location is fine and has very good views of the loch and just a five minute drive to Ben nevis we are going again this may

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I've stayed whilst motorcycle touring with my mate a few times over the past 2 years. Great hotel for a very reasonable price . Scot & all the staff are great . many thanks - Russell

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Fantastic hotel, very friendly, great atmosphere - will stay again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and loved it. The staff were always cheerful and helpful even when thay were working hard. The breakfast was great and it was nice to relax in the lounge and look out over the loch. The rooms are slightly worn but, to us, this was part of charm. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West End Hotel

Address: Achintore Rd, Fort William PH33, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Fort William
West End Hotel Fort William
The West End Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.