We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lime Tree to your Saves list
The Lime Tree
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Shoreham, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well located and good restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fort William was a stopping point through Scotland on a recent visit so we booked in at The Lime Tree. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean. Well located at the end of the main street therefore it was away from the main noise. We booked the restaurant for dinner and had a lovely meal, food was interesting and very well presented. A nice little wine list and altogether a great little spot. just love the lime tree out the front too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    33
    29
    14
See reviews for
41
175
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stylish and modern. We had a larger family room which suited our needs with two small boys (1 yr + 2.5). Big bathroom with tub available for them and a travel cot was set up for us upon our arrival.

Room was a little warm at night even with the window open and the heat off.

Breakfast options in the morning are excellent.

We would certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited one evening for dinner and it is a nice place to eat, although the food is average quality for the price. The service was good and the lounges and restaurant warm and comfortable. It has a good wine list, including three separate roses by the bottle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Found this resteraunt by looking at its ratings on Trip Advisor. We went thinking it would just be an average resteraunt with average food. But how wrong we were. The food was amazing, a great fine dining experience with a scottish twist!
The place was virtually empty when we arrived, but filled up a bit more later on in the night. But I would book just to make sure if possible. Great service and interior. Would definetly go again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stylish modern place, with beautiful large rooms. Very friendly staff helped us the rent a car for a day. We absolutely loved the breakfast, fresh home-made croissants, and we can recommend the french toast with bacon and syrup. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a delightful two night stay at The Lime Tree. David was wonderful as was all the staff. Helpful, friendly folks. The rooms were clean and charming though a wee bit on the cold side.

I would stay here again in a second.

Jean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay was pleasant but the website had led us to believe this was a much more upscale hotel than it is. This is, in fact, a quaint, guest house with a very good location. Our room was an adequate size but we spent a cold night in late October unable to coax much heat out of the radiator. The bathroom needs updating. They have a well reviewed restaurant on the site but we were put off by the price and ate elsewhere. All said, this is a good choice for location but you'll be disappointed if you are looking for upscale accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lime Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Tree

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort William
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree in the 1850 former Church Manse, is a 3 star Small Hotel, a fantastic Art Gallery and arts studio and an award winning fresh food Restaurant AA Two Rosette and Silver Eat Scotland Award overlooking Loch Linnhe in the centre of Fort William - the 'Outdoor Capital of the UK.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lime Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
Lime Tree Fort William
Lime Tree Hotel Fort William
The Lime Tree Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lime Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.