We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sDisgraceful Behaviour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Croit Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Croit Anna Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“sDisgraceful Behaviour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

We had a 3 night stay end of July .On the second night we were kept awake by a dreadfully loud "party" all night. We complained to the night porter with other guests at least 4 times to no avail. Eventually police came to sort it. Staff were totally indifferent to our distress, management gave a half hearted apology and no excuse for not dealing with the noise at the time. We complained to the parent company "Alfa Travel" and after a long and drawn out exchange of letters we recieved compensation. It was very stressful and I would not recommend this hotel or its staff to anyone. Staff attitude was the worst I have ever encountered.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — earplugs or not easily offended
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    41
    15
    25
See reviews for
24
51
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night in this hotel. I can confidently say it's the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was crawling with insects and was very dirty - the carpet was filty and practically every corner of the room was laced in spider webs. The toilet wouldn't flush, and the mirror on the bathroom door had apparently broken and had never been replaced. The hotel staff, while polite, was unconcerned. We spent half an hour trying to kill the literally many tens of mosquitos. We left without having breakfast in the morning (breakfast was included in the price): if the sanitary conditions in the kitchen were comparable to those in the room, we thought it would be a good idea not to touch any food. We would have had a better night sleep had we slept in the car.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

The Croit Anna was a lovely stay for two nights of our tour of Great Britain. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the dinner service was wonderful. We were lucky enough to have been given a Loch view.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Croit Anna where our every need was attended to by helpful, pleasant and efficient staff. The food was excellent, the room was average but we didn't pay for a loch view so we got what we expected but it was cleaned thoroughly every day. I feel the previous reviews may reflect the owners prior to the ones now as the present ones have only been here since October 2005. Although it is a 2* hotel we felt that as seasoned travellers we would have rated it at 3*. Anyone thinking of going to this hotel may I suggest you look at just the most recent reports and give it a try.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

My wife and I have just spent the Easter holidays at
the Croit Anna Hotel, and cannot praise the staff and
manager, Lucas, enough. From the time we arrived until we boarded the coach for the return trip we were looked after really well, and this oppinion was shared by our daughter & son-in-law who had accompanied us for the Easter Break. The meals were good and well served, the room that my wife and I shared was at the front of the hotelwith great views,
and was kept really tidy and clean. With comfortable
beds, plenty of wardrobe space, spotless bath/shower/toilet en-suite.

We would certainly recommend it to any of family & friends

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2005

Would not advise staying here.

Our experience was terrible from start to finish.

No one advised have to book meals in advance if you wish to eat in their resturants.

The comminications with the staff were frustratinmg by the end of the trip,with many problems and mistakes encountered, including over ten minutes to book a room over the phone.

Breakfast was terrible, only served for an hour, when went to dine, they said only had left overs left, given toast, no butter, tea but no milk.

The rooms were ok, your average room, but everything else made this a nightmare stay.

Would strongly recommend not to stay there

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2005

No longer family owned. It shows in the prices of drinks and wine in particular. If you fancy wine with meals, don't stay here. Very expensive. Other little irritations,..............if you want cereal in the mornings, you can't have orange juice. Meals were O.K. but skimped on vegetables. Too far out of Fort William...........you need a car. No buses on Sundays. Staff don't appear to be very happy.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Croit Anna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Two Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croit Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.