We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Flint, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

£109 secured me a so called superior room for the night - once you start to walk up the stairs the tatty decor becomes obvious - there is no way our room had been recently refurbished as assured, dusty, and too much furniture in amalish room - had a view loch though which was ok until the moring when the window was blurred by condensation ( single glazing!). Discarded food and cigarette ends on flat roof outside our window.
Pleasant staff - cant fault them.
I wont be back - is overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    225
    103
    35
    23
See reviews for
84
197
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east scotland
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I booked on line a week before my short visit to Fort William - great value for money £55 Bed and Breakfast. I arrived late , after 2200, but reception had everything ready for me and check in took a couple of minutes. The hotel is busy , coach parties from Germany this week mingling with middle age bikers touring the highlands and business folk passing through. There is a bar , reasonable prices , if a little functional in style - however there are plenty of comfortable spots to nurse your dram if you want a little peace and quite in the public spaces. I would imagine that in the summer if there are a number of tour buses checked in , it could get a little lively in the evening and if you were sensitive to the footfall outside your room you may be better looking for a smaller establishment.

My room had a very comfortable double bed and en-suite - deep bath and hard hitting shower with a fine selection of gels , soaps and shower caps if you need them. The tea tray is generous - coffee and hot chocolate plus shortbread and a bottle of still and fizzy water - a boon if you have a thrist in the night.

I was up early for breakfast , just in front of the coach party. A fine buffet breakfast with all you could ask for - tea at the table with your toast and a free newspaper.
Breakfast set me up for the day and our european friends seemed to enjoy the service too.

My visit was short , less than 12 hours - but I was impressed by all I saw and all the staff I met. I will be back hopefully next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We came to the Foodstop restaurant for dinner one night and had a lovely meal (lamb and fish) and good service. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Called into reception at 17.00 hrs looking for a room for the night. Was told by the receptionist that they were fully booked and so was everywhere else in Fort William that night. She then proceeded to tell us that the only alternative was to sleep in our car as many other couples have in the past or drive 62 miles to Inverness to find accommodation! We found accommodation just along the road in the Caledonian Hotel. But that's another story. Read my notes on this Hotel.

Nick Tadd

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

after reading some reviews my husband and i were wondering what we were getting into for a week-end break everything from the hotel room to the dining was great ! we went half -board we had a twin room as all the doubles were booked the room was a lot bigger than i thought it would be there was bottled water` short bread ` tea` coffee` milk ` sugar all laid out when we arrived ` the bathroom was spotless the beds were comfortable ` in the morning the breakfast is help yourself service `you can have a full scottish breakfast in the evening you have a choice of dinner sittings to suit yourself it was really good `and a nice bottle of wine fantastic `will be going back this year !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I were travelling with a Late Teen and wanted a good stop-off point to explore. I had read the reviews on TripAdvisor with some concern, but from previous experience knew that there was little else in the area other than Fort William that the Late Teen might consider even remotely close to civilisation so we decided to take a chance. To be honest, if we had had to pay the full whack for the rooms (one double and a single) we wouldn't have been there, but we saw a good deal on a website (literally half price) and went for it. I was expecting the itchy blankets well documented in previous reviews but we had a pleasant surprise. We were on the first floor and obviously in the re-vamped rooms and they were absolutely fine. The husband had threatened to go to a supermarket and buy a cheap duvet if needs be, but the quilt etc was more than acceptable. It was also rather nostalgic for someone who spent the summer holidays of her childhood travelling round Scotland and being dragged to see the Anderson brothers, for example, at the Gaiety Theatre in Ayr. As the local band struck up "Bye, bye Blackbird", the Late Teen rolled her eyes and went up to her room where she was lucky enough to get free Wi Fi. Fantastic showers the next day and a lovely breakfast and then we were off to roam. I could have no complaints about this hotel and must say that the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Don't be fooled by the gracious exterior of this hotel. We stayed in the 'new' section built on at the back of the hotel and they obviously hadn't heard of soundproofing. We could hear our neighbours talking, coughing and other 'sounds' all night. Its a time warp hotel caught in the 1970's and although our room was clean beds were old and furniture tatty. Elevator was tiny with odd bits of carpet stuck on the walls to hide damage. Breakfast was OK but had to stand in a long line of tour guests. Plus side, the staff were helpful and pleasant and location is ideal as its central for all amenities.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.