We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
strathclyde
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very comfortable and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

great location.......lovely comfortable rooms.........staff very friendly and helpul.......comfy bed.........great breakfast........will return

Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    247
    109
    41
    24
See reviews for
97
221
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed here in September .it was ok nothing serious wrong just bland and soulless really.
Like a previous reviewer mentioned we had also stayed here in 1996 it felt then more homely and staff seemed more geared up.
This time some of the staff seemed totally disinterested and in fact we felt like apologising for interrupting their conversation. Perhaps the management needs to keep a firmer control, after all it is the paying guest who pays the wages,

  • Liked — CHECK OUT DESK AND FRONT DOOR
  • Disliked — GENERAL ATMOSPHERE
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

4 of us stayed in the Alexandra one night (27th September). The lasting impression will be of the staff - all very hepful and friendly. Beds were very comfortable with clean and cozy bedding. Food was above average - the haggis was a bit bland, but the steaks were pretty good. Brekfast was very good - help yourself to a wide range of food from the buffet, and again the restaurant staff were exemplary.
There's good car parking, and the hotel is right next to the main street in Fort William, so you could easily park up and explore for a day or two. The place also seems to be biker-friendly, as there were quite a few bikers stopping over during their tours.
We were on the first floor, and although there was music downstairs in the bar, we didn't hear a thing. This certainly isn't a luxury hotel, and certainly isn't cheap (£129 per couple per night B&B) but I would definetley go back as there are a lot worse still getting away with charging this sort of money for much poorer service around the Fort William Area.

  • Liked — Friendly and Helpful staff
  • Disliked — a bit too pricey
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

I don't want you to think this was a nightmare stay, it wasn't but to be honest, it was entirely what i have come to expect of 'highland' hotels. It was like staying in the toilet area of a Road-Chef at the motorway services. The rooms reminded me of staying with an elderly relative that has been moved into 'sheltered' housing in the late 70s. It's just really dated- majorly popular with the bus-tour gang. It was £79 for a double with single-occupancy and I'd have been better driving back to Glasgow. The bed was old-school, bright orange blanket under a nylon sheet- youth hostel chic.

Breakfast was like being dosed with cheap meat products and serving myself was at least a bonus as I got to pick out the least offensive articles. Look- if you just want a bed for the night as a stop-off heading somewhere nice then you will cope, if you want a pleasant hotel experience then just dont bother. To give you an illustration- they dont have toilet paper, well, not on a roll, it's in one of those weird dispensers that school and public toliets once favoured. Dreadful.

  • Liked — eh...it was in Fort William
  • Disliked — toilet!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Alexandra Hotel in June.

What we liked:
1. Clean room with all the amenities (except one in our case -- see below).
2. Convenient location at one end of the Fort William high street.

What we didn't like:
1. Lack of character.
2. Postage stamp-sized room.
3. Odd lapses in service. For some reason, our room did not have a telephone, but the hotel was unable to replace it before we checked out.
4. The restaurant which caters to large groups.

This is a tour bus hotel. It's perfectly acceptable if you're in Fort William, but not exciting.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and myself only stayed here for one night. We didn't find anything to complain about.
The room and en-suite were very clean.
Staff were friendly and polite.
We dined in the restaurant for our dinner which was of a high standard, again staff were friendly and polite.
Breakfast was also adequate and enjoyable.
Would re-visit this hotel again

  • Liked — dinner was first class
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

4 th floor is terrible condition. The bed sheets were ripped, wall paper coming off the walls, sparce, decades out of date. A discount was give when i complained but still, and one of staff summed it up when they said we should have the room for free!

  • Liked — It would be a nice place
  • Disliked — The whole condition of the "hotel"
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.