We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haggis Neaps and Tatties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Haggis Neaps and Tatties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Busy place on a Saturday night but then were isn't it in Fort William. Good standard selection of food and traditional haggis, wow what a meal. Who said you have to spend a lot of money to get satisfaction. There were 6 of us in the group but the staff coped with all are various requests without a grumble and we were served in double quick time. Looking the mix of people there were a lot of nationalities in there that night and nobody was in a hurry to move out. We were even treated to a local band playing a few Scottish tunes, pleasant way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    225
    103
    36
    23
See reviews for
84
198
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel right across from the railway station and at the end of the high street is a great location. We went on the Jacobite train journey to mallard and the location to the train station was very handy and with free parking. The hotel restaurant was very nice, pretty modern, good food and friendly helpful staff. Our room was clean, slightly dated but not to its detriment. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of scottish fare and continental. I'd recommend this as a good base for exploring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal only was very Thirty when arrived asked for a pint of sqaush but the waiter did not understand us took around yen minutes to get a drink then he returned with a jug of water not the pints of sqaush we wanted but we got them in the end ..The food we ordered was outstanding and the waitress very polite

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Only stayed for one night while touring. Friendly, helpful staff. Very central location and car parking available. Spacious, comfortable rooms and breakfast couldn't be faulted. Caters for a lot of bus tours so quite a variety of nationalities. They enjoyed the Scottish music entertainment i the bar. Would revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

FYI for Tripadvisor -- the restaurant should really be separated from the hotel, as it's not currently listed. That said...

The first night in Fort William, we went there and were seated only to find out the chefs had left before 10pm (they advertise serving food till then) and we had to go elsewhere. We earmarked it for the next night.

We ordered two soft drinks and they were tiny and wildly expensive--moreso than alcoholic drinks. The meal was fairly expensive as well.

Mozzarella sticks as an appetizer was good, though not particularly filling (only 4 small ones). The presentation of the fish wasn't very inspiring, and the fish ended up with an extremely soggy bottom as the liquid from surrounding items (I think maybe the small salad?) had leaked and made it mushy. The chips weren't particularly great either. My partner enjoyed the roast beef and her sides so she had no complaints other than the pricing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired but if you are walking all day and got a furry friend with you then this is the place. Accepts dogs and breakfast was fab!! Had a good night sleep, however avoid rooms near the lift (unless you want to wake early). The lift is noisy and I could here from about 0600hrs. The guest info is good and I especially like the poems within the welcome pack.....good location near to the local shops and a short walk away (5mins) from the West Highland Way finishing line. Next to the railway station which is great for backpackers. Would revisit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lift, mine was 205 and I could here the lift at 0600hrs, good if you want a wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The short of it is, I ordered field stuffed mushrooms - note the s on the end of mushrooms. When the field stuffed mushrooms arrived I was very disappointed to find the mushrooms consisted of one mushroom chopped in half to perhaps make mushrooms, however I don't feel that is correct as it is still only a mushroom. The field stuffed mushroom presented was very small of approximately 3 or 4 cm in diameter. The mushroom was extremely delicious, although were there at the least minimum and maximum 3 mushrooms, I would have considered it a fair and value for money and treat at around £7, that being the cost.
My partners starter was outstanding, he had the Cullen skink in a huge bread bun. I had to wait for at least another 15 minutes after I'd finished my starter for him to eat his astonishing starter. Surely the chef should make equal sized portions, as that's just weird.
Main meal was outstanding and way far too much food that one can eat. I don't like leaving food on my plate especially when it is delicious.
The service I can say was lovely and I really liked our waitress, however the girl that took our payment and tip didn't even bother look at me ir say thank you - not good. I didn't tell my partner that bit as he was already wound up about my mushroom woes.
I would go there again but check what is being offered before commiting to ordering from the menu.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.