We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hogmanay Bash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hogmanay Bash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having just returned from the Alexandra Hotel Hogmanay Bash-And with things still fresh in my mind.It is with great delight that our stay at the hotel was First Class.The hotel has a great location in Fort William,with all amenities close at hand.All you need is in the hotel,good bar,nice dinning area,good room,nice and warm in hotel,lots of hot watter/very good shower.The meals were Great.All meals.The staff..First Class.The Cleaning Staff..First Class.The whole Package from Strathmore Travel was wonderful.The entertainment that was put on for us,second to none.The optional trips put on,were great Iam told,we were having such a good time in and around the hotel,we missed them out.The nice touch of greeting us into the New Year with Champagne,and again on New Years day.A late breakfast time,or Brunch all great touches.Thanks again..We shall return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    225
    103
    36
    23
See reviews for
84
198
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Alexandra. The hotel's best points are the tasty food and the friendly and attentive staff, our favourite was Alan. The celeidh band who entertained us into the new year were fantastic and the singer Paula, who played a selection of tunes on the 1st, was also very good.
It was also nice to have the use of the leisure facilities at the sister hotel about a mile away. Beautiful local scenery so all in all a very pleasant wee stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The alexandra hotel is a bit retro, which we like to think of as a taste of traditional highland living!

Our room was very serviceable, with comfy beds and a great shower. Everything was clean and it was fairly spacious. We paid extra for the 'club' room and had a good selection of fruit, snacks and wine, and a robe and slippers each and fancier toiletries, all of which made the stay seem little more special.

Staff were very friendly, and the hotel is well situated at the end of the high street with seemingly ample free parking.

There is wifi in the public areas downstairs, but not in the rooms. The bar is again a little dated but perfectly acceptable and the bar staff were friendly.

We will definitely look at this hotel next time we come to Fort William. :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, lower may be better if you're impatient and not keen on stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having read such mixed reviews of this hotel , I have to write my own review. On arrival at the hotel I found reception staff very welcoming, room was clean and warm with plenty of tea etc facilities and selection of toiletries sufficient. Evening meal I had in the small restuarant and enjoyed it thoroughly.Breakfast in the morning was buffet style and an excellent selection , cold meats, fruit juices, grapefruit etc and full Scottish breakfast selection( with eggs as you liked them) as well as kippers.
Downfall is ,the foreign waiting staff are not as friendly and some seem to have a "language barrier " or maybe downright rude !!
Recommend this hotel --- Yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went on a weekend stay at the Alexandra in November and the staff were really helpful and as we had our Westie with us it was nice to find a pet friendly hotel. We spent the first night in the hotel bar and we were looked after by a very friendly bar staff. In the morning we had Breakfast and the food was excellent and almost worth the trip on it's own.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The shower at this hotel was amazing. I spent 2 nights sleeping in the mountains after having my card blocked (thanks Barclays, it wasn't stolen, but appreciate the effort!), so when I jumped into the shower it felt like I was being hosed down by the virgin Mary. (If you have weak skin, be careful, this sucker will tear it off your back)

Apart from one staff member, all the staff here seemed a bit backward, almost like they hadn't slept for many many days, and were roaming around like zombies.
The wifi is apparently 'up and down', when in reality, it was just down, so the router probably just needed resetting. Again, the backward nature of the staff meant the concept of resetting a router was far beyond their mental capacity.

It had a really good atmosphere downstairs, with people at the bar, groups of people sitting around playing cards etc Shame the front entrance is the smoking area.

In summary, really nice room, nice bar and good location. Unwelcoming staff and poor value food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great holiday with our tour operator Dave New, the staff was very helpful in putting a bath handle for the shower it did not have one,nice clean kettlte not rust marks in the last 2 Western hotels we stayed in, the food was too presenting same vegetables not change in them, the entertainment was superb great artists, we stayed 6 days went out touring the Highlands every day got back to hotel had time to get ready for the evening meal then the entertainment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view ours was in between 2 blocks there was no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.