We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended B&B in Ft. William” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morvich B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Morvich B&B to your Saves list
Morvich B&B
Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay longer and save
Ranked #8 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Highly recommended B&B in Ft. William”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I wish we had booked in for more than one night! Easy to find, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Very comfortable room, GREAT view, superb breakfast. We also appreciated the convenience of being able to pay via credit card.

But the best part was the hosts--John and Heather were both friendly and very welcoming, and Heather went out of her way to help us plan our route to Skye (including providing maps!). Highly recommended--we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We chose a lochside bedroom, and I wondered how quiet it would be since the main road is just betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
81
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed with Heather and John this September and liked their establishment. It has a homey feel to it and Heather is a fantastic cook. John went out of his way to help us with our rental car problems which was a godsend. The beds are comfy and bathrooms modern. You can walk into town from here and their dinner recommendations were right on. This is an outdoor place and you can probably expect some rain so dress for it. Ft. William is a small town located in outdoor heaven...great hiking, kayaking and Oban is an easy day trip. The Ben Nevis Inn at the base of Ben Nevis is a great place for lunch and a brew. One of the highlights of our trip was to take the "Harry Potter Steam Train" from Ft. William to Mallaig and then the ferry to Skye. We traveled to Ft. William via train as well from Edinburgh and returned via Kyle of Lochalsh and Inverness to Edinburgh. I must say it is much more relaxing than driving on the left side!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First visit but won't be the last we couldn't have found a better place to stay wish it could have been longer.Heather and John were so welcoming and are delightful hosts.Heather's home made cake delicious,breakfast excellent and room spotless and relaxing.We will certainly be returning for a longer stay.Thanks again Mollie and Stuart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent B&B! Heather and John are excellent hosts who make you feel like family on a visit. The very spacious and immaculate en-suite room facing the Loch was stunning. As for the breakfasts, I can't praise enough, especially the vast amount of scrambled egg and smoked salmon, as well as all the fruit, cereals, juices....

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 after finishing the West Highland Way. We chose this B&B when we realised that we had left it too late to book a hotel at a reasonable price and the reviews for this accommodation were very favourable. Once we reached Morvich we were instantly glad that we were unable to book a hotel.

We were welcomed to the accommodation by the owner and given information about our stay. The room was extremely comfortable - a well deserved luxury after walking for six days. The breakfast was one of the finest I have had and I enjoy the fresh fruit salad.

We were due to take the train from Fort William the next day and as we had some hours before the train arrived the owners kindly offered to let us leave our large bags at the B&B so we could explore Fort William in comfort and they met us at the train station with the bags.

We were extremely happy that we happened to come across Morvich and appreciated the kindness of our hosts. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to any traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, Owner at Morvich B&B, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks TravellingJ81 for the excellent review, we do enjoy doing this. As long as our guests understand that we are just a two people trying to deliver the sort of experience we enjoyed ourselves as a young couple travelling in the Highlands we will probably meet everyone’s expectations. We cannot compete with the full range of services offered by a fully staffed hotel, but we do hope that we can offer a much more personal experience with some nice quality touches.

We do everything in house; the cleaning, laundry, ironing, bed making as well as the cooking, baking, shopping and any repairs that need doing. So, our day is pretty full if we are to greet new guests with everything as it should be at 4.00pm as well as having enough time to take our own lunch and catch a breath.

The summer is drawing to a close so we are able to look forward to a few free days here or there before winter sets in. However, if we are here through winter we are open except across Christmas and New Year. Although we are a long way north we get some really lovely weather even when the rest of Britain is receiving the worst that winter can deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved their hospitality and enthusiasm as our hosts for the night. It makes such a big difference arriving to warm and friendly hosts and Morvich was by far our best B&B experience in Scotland. Breakfast was lovely, we shared a smoked salmon muffin and Heather packed up our other hot breakfast for us so we could take it on the train for lunch.

Room and bathroom was spacious, I'd never seen such a large bathroom before. Beds were also very comfy. There was nothing lacking.

Somewhere on the drive between Fort William and Kyle of Lochalsh, there is an amazing photo point just off the road where you'll see lots of cars parked. It just made us go Wow!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. Heather and John are delightful hosts and their home is beautiful. We had such a lovely room overlooking the loch and the bed and pillows were so comfortable. Bathroom was immaculate with nice toiletries and fluffy towels. We had the croissants with ham, cheese and tomato for breakfast which was too much along with all the other goodies on offer, including fresh berry pots. Heather packed up the remaining two croissants and we ate them later that day!! Will definitely stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morvich B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morvich B&B

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morvich is a stylish B&B offering friendly personal service. All our bedrooms are king en-suites and they are all at the front of the property providing excellent views across Loch Linnhe. Morvich provides bright modern bedrooms, quality beds and delicious breakfasts served in a comfortable relaxed setting. Free Wi-Fi for general browsing and off-street parking. Breakfast is served between 8.00 And 9.00 (packed breakfast earlier check-out required). The minimum age is eighteen (18) and sorry we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Morvich B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morvich B&B Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morvich B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.