We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Beag

Cafe Beag
Glen Nevis, Fort William Ph33 6st, Scotland
+44 1397 703601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Beag provides a warm and friendly welcome for visitors to Glen Nevis. We serve tasty lunchtime food and snacks as well as tea, coffee and cakes throughout the day. Our home baking and Italian espresso is sure to revive even the most weary traveller!
Fort William
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As a local to fort William I recently had dinner with a group of friends at cafe beag, and was very disappointed, the menu consisted of around seven basic dishes, mac and cheese fish and chips, scampi, steak pie etc, basic food I make every night of the week at home! nothing special what so ever, the meal was tasty enough however after waiting an hour and a half to get it I would of eaten a scabby horse and enjoyed it. We were basically thrown out at the end of the night, staff were leaving before we were. Would certainly never return here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    12
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food and a Fantastic welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were staying the local hostel (50 yards up the road) for two nights which was cheap and cheerful, luckily we came across this restaurant on the 1st night and found it very hard to leave, the food was excellent and very reasonably price, with a hospitality that made you feel as though you were in a home from home. Would highly recommend and will be visiting again.

thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, very friendly, lovely cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On Friday 20th September, seven of my work colleagues and I travelled up to Scotland to walk up Ben Nevis to raise money for charity. We stayed in the local youth hostel but chose to eat in the Cafe Beag. We received a really friendly welcome and sampled some of Allisons fine cuisine. the next day after walking the mountain we sampled some of fine liquid refreshments. At that point Allison offered to open the cafe early the next morning especially for us at 07:30. She prepared an amazing Scottish fried breakfast for the eight of us, even catering for our most fussiest team member who has specific dietary needs (sorry Kevin). all I can say in summary is use this cafe, the people are fantastic and the food and drink are magnificent.

Graeme Smith

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff nice toasties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a coffee and light bite after walking to steall falls. Jacket spud with cheese and ham plentiful. Cheese and onion toasty tasty. Only filter coffee - no espresso machine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must go to eatery in Fort William”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely people, excellent food, attentive service, awesome location and extremely reasonable prices. We will definitely be going back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beag also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Cafe Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Beag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.