We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stables Restaurant & Grill

The Stables Restaurant & Grill
Dudley Road, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
+44 1397 700730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 61 restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very busy but the service was excellent. Food was great we all had pasta and the best was penne Roberto chicken and chilli just brilliant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    17
    16
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Warm and welcoming service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Without a doubt the very best service of any Fort William restaurant we dined in. Friendly and warm greeting, turned out to be the manager. Seated quickly, served quickly. The food was reasonable, no high cuisine, but good and plentiful. We had spaghetti bolognaise and pollo (chicken) voltano. Had we a refrigerator available we would have taken half the portions to our bed & breakfast for the next days lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best pizza in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am astonished by the recent poor reviews here. We found The Stables whilst on the way to Skye and we were really impressed.
Best meat feast pizza in years - so much better than anything at the UK national pizza chains and much better than any I have bought from a supermarket.
Lovely penne Roberta with chicken, chilli, tomato and cream.
Beautiful photos on wall of the Nevis range.
Plus - a highly amusing waiter who made us laugh and a car park over the road.
We loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor cooking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant does not serve good resembling Italian cuisine. The pizzas are made with pre made bases of supermarket frozen quality and the pasta dishes are just okay. Service completely deadpan. Not good enough for the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avoid if you have taste buds!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Felt we needed a quick snack so pizza seemed the perfect option to tear and share with the family. What came out tasted of nothing like pizza. a store bought base, a sauce from a tin/jar and cheese from tescos. This was really disappointing as the guy on the door was so nice and accomodating but i know he realised we weren't happy as little conversation took place. we only read these reviews when the poor pathetic cardboard pizza arrived!!! Felt stupid!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Restaurant & Grill also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stables Restaurant & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.