We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland - at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Save
You added The Grange to your Saves list
Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Deutschlandsberg, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scotland - at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I came from Germany and stayed a fortnight at The Grange. We spent a great time there. Joan knows how to make feel guests comfortable and welcomed. She also provided us with tipps for spectacular walks, exquisite restaurants and amazing sightseeing tours. And we started cooking porridge with a spoon of Whiskey when we returned home - just to remember this holiday feeling. As we had no time at all to see the Isles of Skye we have to come back. Definitely!

Room Tip: All rooms are elegant and quiet places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
194
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This would have to be the best B & B in Scotland. Nothing tizzy, everything tasteful, indeed modern, comfortable chic. An open fire in the spacious lounge, our upstairs room large, with views over the loch, our bathroom cavernous, with heated floors. A bedroom that invited us to stay indoors just that little bit longer. Our hostess provided the best breakfasts of our 6 week travels about the UK. Helpful yet unobtrusive, she provided fine recommendations for local dining. This was our final two night stay in Scotland before we flew out of Glasgow. We were gad we had stayed at the Grange.

Room Tip: The corner upstairs rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful house with a beautiful view over the Loch. A real treat to stay here. It is definitely not cheap but the Price seems to match the other B&B´s in this area and we thought it was worth it! The rooms are just lovely, each in their own way, but we liked the smallest one the most, because it was cosy and had lovely earth colors that was very soothing. On the website you can´t see which bathroom goes with which room, but all of the rooms have lovely bathrooms. The house is in walking distance of the town center so you can walk to the restaurants in the evening, no need to drive. The owner is sweet and lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms to choose from. All 3 are lovely rooms, but if you want small and cosy with a soot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Before our honeymoon began this was a places could not wait to stay. Everything I dreamed of was here. Joan was fabulous! She met us late the night of our check in with a lovely welcome. She was absolutely the best!

Her home is beautiful! Our room was suburb and our bathroom even better! The breakfast was a true Scottish delight and wonderful! We recommend this stay to anyone. My new husband and I were so sad when it was time to leave. She gifted us with the sweetest just married sign. If ever in Fort William, stay here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a wonderful retreat, beautiful setting and mid-point to our holiday decompression. Thank you for your terrific welcome, Joan. Your breakfasts were fantastic. We so appreciated your allowing us to have our "Scottie fix" by meeting Shamus. We send good thoughts his way. Everything that I read about you and The Grange was so right.

Room Tip: An hour from Eilean Donan Castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The owner, Joan, is a wonderful hostess; and very helpful. The room was fantastic and the B&B is comparable to a hotel! We highly recommended The Grange! We had to leave early the next morning so that we could catch an early ferry to the Isle of Skye. Joan was so gracious, and served us an early breakfast. She also recommended an excellent restaurant for our lovely dinner. Thank you, Joan!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Grange, and it is just superb. The tea on arrival was very welcome on a chill day! Everything in the house is at sach a high standard, beautiful silver ornaments and cutlery. It all felt very luxurious,

The bedroom was beautiful, the furnishings are so elegant, everything has so much thought into it. The bathroom was just a delight. The room had lovely windows over the loch.

Joan was very helpful and gave us some good tips on dinner reservations and where to head out to each day.

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was just lovely.

Joan also gave us a 'just married' wooden sign as we left which stayed on our bags for the rest of our trip!!

Thank you Joan, I would highly recommend The Grange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.