We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Save
You added The Grange to your Saves list
Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 117 Fort William B&B and Inns
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

To call this a B&B doesn't really begin to do justice to this spectacularly beautiful boutique hotel. The grounds are exquisite, with a view over the water that is breathtaking Our room was huge and exceptionally beautiful - all in elegant beige. The breakfast was beautiful to look at and delicious. And Joan, our innkeeper, was delightful. I've stayed many, many places all over the world and this has to be one of the loveliest ever - including many that were way more pricey,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
190
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Grange is stunningly beautiful. Great views, grounds, interiors and hospitality. The location is perfect for seeing the area. The owner, Joan is very welcoming and helpful. We would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a truly special experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a lovely place to stay, just a moments walk from the waters edge and the town. Its a perfect base from which to explore the area. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Joan made us feel very welcome. The room was great and we had a lovely view over the loch, breakfast was also good. We'd definitely stay here again. An extended thanks goes to Joan for going the extra mile and making the day we got engaged extra special.

Thanks

Laurence and Gem

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Grange never fails to delight. Owner Joan Campbell's warm hospitality, mouthwatering breakfasts, and flair for stunning interior design make The Grange the best place to stay from which to explore Lochaber. It is difficult to leave the wonderful views of Loch Linnhe from all the bedrooms, dining and sitting rooms and the garden, but it is equally delightful to return at night
to the deep comfort of the luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms, and the decanters of sherry!

Room Tip: All rooms have views over Loch Linnhe. The Rob Roy has the most wide-reaching views, and is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As seasoned travelers we have stayed in many wonderful establishments. The Grange has set a new standard for us. The setting is charming, and because of the elevation above Fort William, there is a wonderful view over Loch Linnhe. The 19th century home has been totally renovated and modernized with a designer's eye for decoration and a sybarite's concern for comfort. We stayed in the garden room which included a sitting room. The large bathroom boasted a Villeroy and Boch tub as well as a separate shower.

Joan Campbell is a marvelous hostess (she's been doing this for nearly 20 years) and serves a fabulous breakfast. We custom ordered the night before - porridge (comes with honey, cream and whiskey on the side - hadn't thought of whiskey with breakfast, but it was fun!), muesli, fruit in a tea/citrus broth, scottish pancakes, herring in a delightful cream sauce, homemade bread - all delicious.

We had only rationed one night in Fort William for this visit, but will surely stop again, if only for The Grange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I am so happy that we found this B and B on Trip Advisor. All I can say is WOW. This was an extraordinary find. Do not hesitate, make your reservation early. Can we move in? Trust Joan when she makes a recommendation. She is very knowledgable about the area and restaraunts.

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms. Can't go wrong. I took pictures of all of them for decorating tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Going south now, back from the highlands, we had booked 2 nights in the grange. Joan welcomed us with some coffee and cookies.. After some info on our stay, she helped us immediately with the necessary bookings for dinner.

We had dinner at Russels's, a bit of a drive back to spean bridge, but good food and nice atmosphere, our 2nd night we ate at the lime tree, which was not bad, but nothing special either..

Our room at the Grange was lovely, had all what we needed for and gave us a nice view on the loch, joan's breakfast is delicious, we'll never forget the porridge with whisky.

Fort William itself, as a city, isn't really worthwhile a visit, but we followed the recommendations Joan gave us and went to visit Mull for a day, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip through Scotland.

We would certainly recommend this place to any one looking for a spotless B&B experience ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.