We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay here and ready for next time too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Save Saved
You added The Grange to your Saves list
Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 116 Fort William B&B and Inns
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Third stay here and ready for next time too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at the Grange. My husband has been twice before and raved about it so much that I agreed to join him on a break to see the Scottish highlands basing ourselves in Fort William.

We have travelled around the world and stayed in some very classy hotels, but I have to say that The Grange experience was absolutely brilliant, starting from Joan showing us our beautiful room upon arrival and offering us tea and shortbread in front of the log fire, to the perfect home-made breakfasts (I went through the whole menu) and all the good advice on “off the beaten track” routes which contributed to this being a great holiday.

We managed to see all of the three rooms and they are all lovely with huge bathrooms so I would have been happy to stay in any of them. I have been recommending this place to anybody who is willing to listen! Congratulations to Joan on making it all seem effortless !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
175
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here during a week long whistle-stop tour of Scotland in October. We had contacted Joan via email and tried to book two nights, but unfortunately she was fully booked for the second night. She was very helpful and let us know the dates that she had available for two consecutive nights but, unfortunately, these did not fit in with our travel plans. We really wanted to stay here, so we booked the one night. I made the booking over the telephone and Joan was extremely helpful again, giving me other recommendations and contact information for B&Bs nearby that may be able to fit us in for the second night.

We arrived at Fort William and had a little trouble finding The Grange - we actually drove along the loch 3 times looking for it. The easiest way to describe how to get to it is, if you are driving into Fort William and you have the loch on your left and the B&Bs on your right, drive all the way along to the small roundabout and take a right. Then, take your next right onto a street that runs parallel with the "front street" and the loch. The Grange is on that street on your right hand side.

From the outside the property is stunning. There is a gravel driveway and parking area and a lovely garden area and the property itself is like a little castle with turrets. It really is lovely. We walked along the front of the house and in through the front door and were greeted warmly by Joan who welcomed us and showed us to our room. We had The Garden Room and it was absolutely beautiful. Joan showed us around and invited us to take tea in the lounge and asked what we would like to drink.

We had arrived in the early evening so we had a quick change of clothing and took Joan up on the offer of tea. We sat in the lounge which was very homely and there was a lovely log fire burning. There were two teapots on the table, with two cups and a plate of homemade shortbread. Joan came in and asked if everything was okay and we explained that we hadn't made dinner reservations and asked her if she had any recommendations. She left the room and returned with some sample menus in a file for local restaurants and explained which were good, what ones she had been to and told us what other guests had commented about the various places. She left us to peruse the menus and to drink our tea and returned shortly after to ask us if we had chosen somewhere. We had chosen Russell's at Smiddy House (at Spean Bridge) on her recommendation. Joan rang ahead and asked if there was availability for us and gave us directions.

The gentleman at Russell's was very pleasant and explained he knew Joan and had stayed at the B&B on numerous occasions. He chatted to us for a while and asked what room we were staying in, commenting that he loved The Garden Room. We had a very enjoyable meal and headed back to the B&B.

Our room really was lovely. It had a very luxurious feel to it. It was a very good size and was split into three areas; the bedroom area, a seating area and the bathroom. The bathroom had a lovely bathtub and a large shower. It was large and very well decorated. The seating area had a lovely chez lounge, two chairs and a cabinet (which had two crystal glasses and a crystal decanter with whisky in it and more delicious homemade shortbread). The bedroom area had a wonderful large (and very comfortable) bed, bedside tables, a dresser and wardrobe and a television. It really was more like a luxury hotel than a B&B.

In the morning, we went down for breakfast. Joan had gave us a card to fill out the evening before asking us to fill it out and leave it on the table in the communal hall for her so she could prepare our breakfasts accordingly. There were various items on the breakfast menu and a very good selection. You had two courses for breakfast and we were spoilt for choice. When we arrived in the breakfast room the following morning there was freshly baked (and still warm) bread on table in the form of a small, individual, uncut loaf. Various jams and marmalades were also on the table for us to just help ourselves too. Joan came in, asked us if we had enjoyed our meal the evening before, and offered us Juice, Tea and Coffee and told us that our breakfast would not be long. I had ordered the homemade compote and my partner ordered the porridge. My compote was warm and had apricot and prunes in a syrup. My partner's porridge came with honey and whisky. I dipped my spoon into his bowl to try his porridge with my compote and it was a delicious combination. Joan spotted me doing this and brought me in a small bowl of porridge to go with my compote. My partner also had american style pancakes and bacon (as I'm not a big breakfast eater, the compote and bit of porridge was enough for me, so I didn't have two courses).

As she was clearing our table, Joan asked us what our plans were for the rest of the day. We explained that we were heading over to Loch Ness and staying in Inverness that night, but that we had hoped to visit the Eilean Donan Castle and we were trying to figure out what route was best to take. She suggested that, instead of going straight to Loch Ness, we head north and visit the beaches of Mallaig, hop on the ferry across to the Isle of Skye and then come back over the bridge that links Skye with the Mainland. We could then take in Eilean Donan, which was en route, and head across to Inverness, that way we would not be doubling back on ourselves and we'd being seeing so much more of Scotland. Joan told us that Mallaig had fabulous beaches and that it was really worth heading up there.

We finished our (excellent) breakfast and went back up to the room to retrieve our belongings. We had a quick look at our map and plotted a route to take in what Joan had suggested. We went down and checked out with Joan. She was very pleasant and asked if we had enjoyed our stay.

I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. It is absolutely lovely, inside and out. Joan is the perfect host, giving extremely helpful advice and she is very attentive. Our room was amazing and the whole property is very well kept, spotlessly clean (which must be a real challenge with cream carpets and bedding in the bedrooms), and immaculately tidy.

Thank you Joan for a lovely evening, delicious breakfast and for the advice about going to Mallaig - it was the highlight of our trip and we would not have gone if had not been for you.

If we are ever heading up that way again, we will definitely be booking into the The Grange without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This really is an exceptional place to stay. The decor and cleanliness is immaculate, both inside and outside the building. The location (down a slightly unassuming road, about 10 mins walk away from the town centre) is great: you turn into a gravel drive, to see perfectly groomed lawns and pristine whitewashed walls. From the moment you arrive, you know you are in the hands of an expert host, with a fantastic eye for detail. Joan greeted us on arrival with tea & biscuits, and a lovely log fire. She was unerringly warm, friendly & helpful thoughout our stay: nothing was too much trouble. Our room - the turret room - had a fabulous view across the Loch. The bathroom was luxurious and stylish. We thought we were in a 'superior' room, but apparently this was merely 'standard': Lord alone knows what a 'superior' room looks like! In all, if you are looking for luxury with a personal touch, I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have had the pleasure of recently returning from another stay at The Grange. We have stayed in all three rooms and have enjoyed each of them as much as the other, in fact spoilt for choice springs to mind!! They are very individually designed to the highest of standards and are excellent value for money. The Grange is a haven of luxury and tranquility away from the pressures of day to day life. I was a little surprised to read a review saying the Turret Room was slightly overpriced in relation to the other rooms and rather small. It's a beautiful room - check out the Turret Room's bathroom - stunning!! I honestly believe that the Rob Roy Room and Garden Room are under priced if anything!!. I would highly recommend The Grange and all it's rooms. You will find, as we always do, any stay with Joan at The Grange is too short even when we book for the week!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous. You will be disappointed if you book for just one night though!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Grange for one night on our way down from northern Scotland.

We were greeted by the lovely host and had tea and biscuits in the sitting room, who then gave us advice on where to have dinner in town.

Our room was spectacular. There were great views out to the Loch and the interior design was really impressive. As well as looking good, the room was really comfortable too and there were some lovely extra touches such as a little decanter of sherry for us which we enjoyed.

There was a great choice for breakfast and it was really tasty, with extras like homemade bread.

The hosts clearly have a talent for interior design and we really wished we had booked in for 2 nights instead of 1 as we liked the place so much!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My sister and I spent 2 nights at the grange in March and had a fantastic time. The owner Joan was extremely welcoming, giving us tea and home made shortbread on arrival by the fire. The room, in fact the whole house is stunning, beautifully decorated and spotless with breathtaking views from the dinning room and our bedroom.

Breakfast was home made with excellent choice.

There are great hikes nearby and the house is just a short walk from the town centre in a peaceful area.

We will definitely be back!

Thanks Joan,

Lisa & Michelle

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Grange. Because of availability, we spent the first night in the smaller room and although it was very nice and pretty, it did feel rather small and a tad overpriced. Dont get me wrong, its lovely, but we werent OVERLY impressed with the place that first night. Then the second night we moved to the deluxe room- the one on the left at the top of the stairs, and we were in love. Its really beautiful. The color scheme and the wood and windows are really really beautiful. The bathroom is gorgeous with a big beautiful tub. After a long hike in the wet and cold (because even if the weather is good the ground is soaked!) we were exhausted and when we came back to this room and found 2 glasses with a small bottle of sherry for us waiting, we climbed into the amazing bathtub and relaxed! I didnt want to leave that room. The bed was VERY comfortable- in both rooms. The house only has three guest rooms and we did manage to see all three. The two deluxe rooms are both beautiful and a good size, but the decor of the other one was a bit more feminine and we didnt like it as much as the one we were in. Also, the price difference between the small room and the deluxe is only 10 pounds, which I think is not enough. The smaller room should be cheaper to be honest, otherwise I see no reason to not just book the deluxe. The house is really pretty and the owner has put a lot of effort into the decor. Its very lovingly looked after and there are tons of little sweet touches. Everything feels very high quality. Breakfasts were very good and generous and served very beautifully. The sitting room is warm and cozy, although I think we preferred just to be in that wonderful room upstairs where its private. We had a car, so we never really explored right around the hotel. It is in a quiet area on the outskirts of the town. There are other houses around it, but it feels private. Its set up high so it gets a good view of the lake and mountains from all the rooms. Its very peaceful. The hiking in the area is fantastic and we found some really great places to eat. I would recommend keeping it more casual as far as restaurants. We really liked the Ben Nevis Inn. Its a climbers pub and the food was excellent and the atmosphere very warm and casual.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra 10 pounds for a deluxe, its totally worth it. We liked the room at the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.