We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay in the best room this place is amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Save
You added The Grange to your Saves list
Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 119 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you stay in the best room this place is amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Grange. Because of availability, we spent the first night in the smaller room and although it was very nice and pretty, it did feel rather small and a tad overpriced. Dont get me wrong, its lovely, but we werent OVERLY impressed with the place that first night. Then the second night we moved to the deluxe room- the one on the left at the top of the stairs, and we were in love. Its really beautiful. The color scheme and the wood and windows are really really beautiful. The bathroom is gorgeous with a big beautiful tub. After a long hike in the wet and cold (because even if the weather is good the ground is soaked!) we were exhausted and when we came back to this room and found 2 glasses with a small bottle of sherry for us waiting, we climbed into the amazing bathtub and relaxed! I didnt want to leave that room. The bed was VERY comfortable- in both rooms. The house only has three guest rooms and we did manage to see all three. The two deluxe rooms are both beautiful and a good size, but the decor of the other one was a bit more feminine and we didnt like it as much as the one we were in. Also, the price difference between the small room and the deluxe is only 10 pounds, which I think is not enough. The smaller room should be cheaper to be honest, otherwise I see no reason to not just book the deluxe. The house is really pretty and the owner has put a lot of effort into the decor. Its very lovingly looked after and there are tons of little sweet touches. Everything feels very high quality. Breakfasts were very good and generous and served very beautifully. The sitting room is warm and cozy, although I think we preferred just to be in that wonderful room upstairs where its private. We had a car, so we never really explored right around the hotel. It is in a quiet area on the outskirts of the town. There are other houses around it, but it feels private. Its set up high so it gets a good view of the lake and mountains from all the rooms. Its very peaceful. The hiking in the area is fantastic and we found some really great places to eat. I would recommend keeping it more casual as far as restaurants. We really liked the Ben Nevis Inn. Its a climbers pub and the food was excellent and the atmosphere very warm and casual.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra 10 pounds for a deluxe, its totally worth it. We liked the room at the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
194
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Travelling from Aberdeen via Inverness and onward to Edinburgh, we were extremely fortunate to come across The Grange. We stayed for only one night and wished it could have been longer. Joan's offer of tea in the lounge was extremely welcome after a long drive, and the house itself was exquisite, in every possible way. After staying in larger 'chain' hotels prior to The Grange, it was a delight to stay here overnight. Joan made us feel extremely welcome, and the breakfast was second to none. Having read through some of the other reviews I couldn't agree more, this is a b&b to recommend and come back to! Thank you Joan.

Room Tip: !By fitness centre we mean proximity to the Loch which is a fantastic walk! (or jog).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Jim an I took a Easter week end to climb Ben Nevis. We stayed at the Grange, on our arrival the Landlady Joan made us feel very welcome ,she showed us into a beautiful sitting with a lovely log fire,also a pot of tea/coffee ,cakes/biscuits.Our room was nothing but gorgeous, the whole house was stunning to say the least,truly five star .Joan helped us to find some where to eat on the evening and was happy to ring many places up for us,she was delightful.Breakfast again, supper,we couldn't fault any thing at all. Jim proposed at the very top of Ben Nevis an Joan was happy to share our good news ,lovely lady an we will be going back while on our honey moon to Scotland next Easter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Grange for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. Joan was very welcoming, and offered us tea in the lounge which was an absolutely beautiful and cozy room with a roaring fireplace which Joan started for us. Our bedroom faced the Loch and mountains which offered spectacular views while the bathroom had a nice, luxurious soaking bathtub and a separate spacious shower. The entire house and grounds were notably in very clean condition. Also, we had complimentary sherry awaiting us in our bedroom which was excellent after dinner. Breakfast was filling and all around great portions. Our porridge came with a wee dram of whiskey and was an excellent addition to the porridge. The coffee & tea were also delicious. We look forward to returning again, particularly when the rhododendrons and garden are in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a fleeting visit to Fort William in March 2013, where we had the good fortune of staying at The Grange. Everything about the house was immaculate, with beautiful furnishings and a real eye for detail. The room was extremely comfortable and views spectacular. We will be recommending to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last July, I stayed with my husband at The Grange. The house is lovely and quiet. Classic style for the interior decor. High quality for everything: breakfast food, choice of cookies and teas in the room, handsome bathroom, very clean. Even a little teddy bear, in our room, waiting for us in different position every day. Charming and kind welcome. The owner gave us useful advices, also for cooking a good Scottish porridge!
Wonderful view from the room: on the beautiful garden and on the loch.
Ten minutes walk along by the loch in a beautiful path to go to the little city center.
We love walking, so to reach the train station (to go to Mallaig), on the opposite side of the city center, we went by walk in 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Sorry for the late review... We booked 2 rooms at The Grange in Fort William on 13th and 14th Sept 2012. I was travelling with family.
The property was exceptional. Rooms were very stylish and each of the rooms had a different theme.
Joan was a fantastic host - we really felt welcome. The breakfast was served in a lovely room over looking the Loch, and the selection was all homemade and delicious.
Could not reccoment this property more - would love to return again soon!
Location was also central and an easy few minutes drive into town.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: Grange Road, Fort William PH33 6JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange offers you exceptional luxury accommodation while you take time to experience and explore the Highlands of Scotland.Our B&B is graded at the highest standard by Visit Scotland and holds other awards for the quaility of the accommodation and the welcome and attention provided by your hosts.The Grange 5 star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is at the west end of Fort William and is set in its own grounds overlooking Loch Linnhe offering exceptional B&B in a lovingly restored Victorian town house with a friendly atmosphere. All bedrooms are designed and dressed to a very high standard with private facilities and views over Loch Linnhe and you will find a thoughful selection of finishing touches to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Fort William
The Grange Fort William, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.